CMOS checksum error with a partially working keyboard, help please

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

wrad3

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 28, 2013
Messages
3
On startup, my computer gives me the CMOS checksum error- Defaults loaded. I can press f1 to continue and DEL to enter setup, but my keyboard with a ps2 connection has partial control with only the delete, escape, scroll lock, and numblock keys working, at least to my knowledge. I can press delete to get into the bios, but i cannot control anything from there. I have also tried another keyboard with a usb connection and got the same results meaning that the problem does not lie with the keyboard.

To fix the problem, i have replaced the bios battery and also reset the CMOS using the jumpers. This obviously didnt work as i would not be posting this. I know that if i can somehow communicate with the bios, i can set it to stop "halt on error".

I am currently using a p5n- d ASUS motherboard and from what ive read my other specs shouldent be necessary, though if you would like them i will gladly provide them.

Please offer any suggestions before I consider replacing the motherboard.
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2013
Messages
87
Is this the first time you have trouble with this? It seems your computer EEPROM has been damaged. Probably due to touching with your hands without being ESD discharged.
 

wrad3

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 28, 2013
Messages
3
Yes, this is the first time. I was afraid that that might be the reason. I touch the sides of the case to discharge the static but Im pretty sure you should wear some kind of gloves to fully prevent the discharge. I'm assuming that theres nothing I can do to fix the problem other than buying a new motherboard?
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2013
Messages
87
I am afraid if the memory's cells are damaged you have either change the mother board or replace the BIOS.

Just a tip..to fully discharge your self wear conductive shoes or no shoes at all on a conductive floor without any carpet...my experience I have worked on electronic manufacture.
 

wrad3

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 28, 2013
Messages
3
Thanks for the tip, ill be sure to do that next time I start messing around my computer.

I do have a question, when you mean replace the BIOS, do you mean replace the physical chip or just replace it using a flash?
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
42,289
Open the case and give the board a VERY close inspection with a bright light. Look for any capacitors that look like the pics below. That board is getting pretty old now and it may have some failing parts.
 

Attachments

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top