Cobian Backup

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

cbird01

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 14, 2005
Messages
23
I am in need of a backup program and just downloaded Cobian. Is this just to backup files, or will this backup your operating system also?

I guess I should describe what I want to do and see what the best program would be.

I want to be able to backup everything. I have so many programs on my computer and my drive is 4 years old. I do not want to have to reload the whole operating system AND all the programs. It just takes too much time. I just did it so I could wipe my hard drive and start with a fresh install of XP. I never want to do this again until I get another computer and chances are, this hard drive will go kaput before that happens.

So I would like a full backup of programs/OS and files. Obviously this will take a long time. Then I want fast, regular backups of any changes once per night or maybe weekly at the most.

I am backing up to a SATA external hard drive via a IEEE 1394 firewire interface from a Dell Inspiron 8200.

Can Cobian do this or will I need something like True Image?

(If there is an intermediate solution that would minimize the time it takes to fully restore my system including all applications, but doesn't necessarily make an image of my entire disk, do tell)
 

redoak

Gone but never forgotten
Joined
Jun 24, 2004
Messages
6,781
Cobian is only for file(s) backups. I am not informed enough to answer the rest of your questions. However, I know an "imaging program" will be needed.
{redoak}
 
Joined
May 6, 2005
Messages
467
Why don't you want to use True Image? If you need a fast backing up and restoring - True Image is the best solution. I can surely say that True Image works faster than Ghost for example. With True Image you'll need to do a backup of your entire PC once and after that it will only capture changes so it will be very fast. You can continue working while True Image performing a backup operation. If you want to do a regular backup you can use built-in scheduler that will allow you to do a backup as often as you want. I think you should read more about True Image potentialities to make sure that it is the best solution.
I use Acronis for a long time and can say that it works perfectly.
 

cbird01

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 14, 2005
Messages
23
I was trying to find something cheaper, but if that is the best solution I think I will just go for it. I actually used the demo version and completed a full backup a few months back. When I install the paid version, will I be able to just do a incremental now?
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,425
If your full backup is a few months old, you're overdue for another full backup!
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,425
Acronis True Image and Cobian Backup serve different roles. Acronis True Image 7 has no file-by-file backup.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,425
Since the current version of True Image is only $30 on a downloaded purchase from www.newegg.com, I'm not sure what the issue is. Everything in life doesn't have to be free. :)
 

guitar

Banned
Joined
Jan 15, 2006
Messages
414
JohnWill said:
Since the current version of True Image is only $30 on a downloaded purchase from www.newegg.com, I'm not sure what the issue is. Everything in life doesn't have to be free. :)
hmm let me think no job two kids a wife a house mortgage 2 cars and i'm on dialup:D maybe its a lack of money
and if there is one that works and is free thats what i asked for [i've tried a few that don't work and are free]

[ i get my job back when i get my drivers licence back in 3 month ]
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,425
Perhaps an adjustment to the behavior that caused you to lose your driver's license would be more to the point. ;)
 

guitar

Banned
Joined
Jan 15, 2006
Messages
414
that helped not;)
we have so many speed restrictions here and i'm on the road a lot its just a matter of time to lose all your points and your licence for offences 5km over the speed limit
i got acronis from a friend and it worked fine:D
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2006
Messages
118
According to your requirements True Image will be the most convenient solution for you, so plus one vote for Acronis:)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top