Code 10

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

cheesyboy

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 4, 2004
Messages
35
when I installled my WDM drivers and TVTUNER drivers from Nvidia for my GFX card it says Cannot complete hardware installation Code 10.

What is code 10?

This never happened before.
 

Bryan

Bryan
Joined
Jul 3, 1999
Messages
11,943
Code 10 usually means the drivers are bad or the wrong driver for the card. Did you download the drivers from some site, if so, can you post the link?

Also, what version of Direct X are you running?
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
You may want to download the drivers from the manufacturer/assembler of your card, ie MSI or Sapphire. NVidia only makes the chip on the card and sometimes its best to use the manufacturer's drivers.
 

cheesyboy

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 4, 2004
Messages
35
System Information
------------------
Machine name: P422GHZ
Operating System: Windows XP Professional (5.1, Build 2600) (2600.xpclient.010817-1148)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: VIA Technologies, Inc.
Time of this report: 9/7/2004, 19:21:54
System Model: P4X266E-8233
BIOS: Phoenix - AwardBIOS v6.00PG
Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.20GHz, ~2.2GHz
Memory: 384MB RAM
Page File: 189MB used, 733MB available
Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
DxDiag Version: 5.03.0001.0904 32bit Unicode

Is my system compatible with Mandrake Linux?
 

Bryan

Bryan
Joined
Jul 3, 1999
Messages
11,943
Not sure but I can't recommend installing a new OS to fix what appears to be a driver issue.

Where did you get the driver you installed?
 

cheesyboy

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 4, 2004
Messages
35
I downloaded the driver from the main Nvidia site... nvidia.com so it shouldn't be 'bad' drivers should it?
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
Did you uninstall any old drivers prior to installing the new one?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top