1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Code 10

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by cheesyboy, Sep 7, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. cheesyboy

    cheesyboy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Messages:
    35
    when I installled my WDM drivers and TVTUNER drivers from Nvidia for my GFX card it says Cannot complete hardware installation Code 10.

    What is code 10?

    This never happened before.
     
  2. Bryan

    Bryan

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1999
    Messages:
    11,943
    First Name:
    Bryan
    Code 10 usually means the drivers are bad or the wrong driver for the card. Did you download the drivers from some site, if so, can you post the link?

    Also, what version of Direct X are you running?
     
  3. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    You may want to download the drivers from the manufacturer/assembler of your card, ie MSI or Sapphire. NVidia only makes the chip on the card and sometimes its best to use the manufacturer's drivers.
     
  4. cheesyboy

    cheesyboy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Messages:
    35
    System Information
    ------------------
    Machine name: P422GHZ
    Operating System: Windows XP Professional (5.1, Build 2600) (2600.xpclient.010817-1148)
    Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
    System Manufacturer: VIA Technologies, Inc.
    Time of this report: 9/7/2004, 19:21:54
    System Model: P4X266E-8233
    BIOS: Phoenix - AwardBIOS v6.00PG
    Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.20GHz, ~2.2GHz
    Memory: 384MB RAM
    Page File: 189MB used, 733MB available
    Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
    DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
    DX Setup Parameters: Not found
    DxDiag Version: 5.03.0001.0904 32bit Unicode

    Is my system compatible with Mandrake Linux?
     
  5. Bryan

    Bryan

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1999
    Messages:
    11,943
    First Name:
    Bryan
    Not sure but I can't recommend installing a new OS to fix what appears to be a driver issue.

    Where did you get the driver you installed?
     
  6. cheesyboy

    cheesyboy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Messages:
    35
    I downloaded the driver from the main Nvidia site... nvidia.com so it shouldn't be 'bad' drivers should it?
     
  7. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    Did you uninstall any old drivers prior to installing the new one?
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/271367

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice