1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Codecs messed up

Discussion in 'Multimedia' started by Kula, Aug 2, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Kula

    Kula Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    596
    Any AVI file from any source, causes an error message sayin Windows Explorer needs to close, even if I just click on it once. A colleague has said my codecs could be messed up and I need to remove them, and re-install. Also remove the registry entry for Windows Media Player that opens avi's. What's the best way of going about this. I have recorded TV programs, which are Mpeg, and need to turn them into AVI, to then convert them to play on my portable media.
     
  2. thecoalman

    thecoalman

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,491
    Do you have any codec packs installed? If so the first thing to do is unistall them. Try playing your file again, if you don't have the correct codec installed it still won't work but this initial step is to remove any codecs that are conflicting.

    Codecs should be installed on need only only basis... Packs cause more problems than they solve.
     
  3. Kula

    Kula Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    596
    I uninstalled the codec pack, but the item is still on the program menu, and Advanced Uninstaller says it can't uninstall it.
     
  4. thecoalman

    thecoalman

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,491
    Does WMP still close when you try to play a file?
     
  5. lister

    lister

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,993
    Try reinstalling the codec pack again, then run the uninstaller. This should enable it to be removed properly.
     
  6. MysticEyes

    MysticEyes Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Messages:
    4,825
    When you just click on it you are activating the Exporer preview pane. Seems Explorer is experiencing a preview problem due to clashing codecs as was mentioned.

    Get Gspot, 2.21, and see what codecs are required for your AVI.

    http://www.headbands.com/gspot/

    You might also try this app which will show the codecs and allow you to disable/enable them as an aid to sorting things out.

    http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/mmview.html
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/488705

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice