1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

college student laptop help

Discussion in 'Random Discussion' started by fearlesss, Sep 21, 2008.

Advertisement
  1. fearlesss

fearlesss Thread Starter

I am currently a college student in computer science at Depaul. I am going to be studing network security. I need to buy a laptop so I can work on my homework besides at home or at the labs. What OS system is best given my major? I am currently taking C++. Depaul (like U of Illinois ) is a windows school. I know Dell has been having quantity issues and I have only bought dells in the past because I like the custom ability so I do not know who make good laptops any more.

2. leroys1000

leroys1000 Banned

Might look into cyber power for custom laptops.
    http://www.cyberpowerpc.com/r05/ri05.asp
    I would suggest windows XP pro,as I have had so many stability problems with
    vista that I just got rid of it.
    You will want something with a decent processor and plenty of memory
    for compiling programs.
    I don't know if they still have XP,you might check with them

3. TechGuy

TechGuy Administrator

First Name:
    Mike
    A lot of people are still afraid of Vista. It reminds me of when XP first came out and everyone warned to stick with 98. Check with your school to see what OS they recommend. It's possible they still use older software that isn't supported in Vista yet, but I've found that most schools not only support but recommend Vista by now.

As for brand, I'm not a big fan of Dell, either. I've had good luck with Sony and I'm a big fan of Lenovo. Your school may have a deal with some manufacturers to get you special pricing.

Good luck!

4. TechGuy

TechGuy Administrator

First Name:
    Mike