Combine several tables into one in access

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

bigbird9

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 23, 2007
Messages
35
How can I use ms access to combine several tables into one table?

Thanks
 

OBP

Joined
Mar 8, 2005
Messages
19,896
bigbird, assuming that you have created your new Single table, then you create Append Queries to add the data in the other table to the new table.
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2004
Messages
7,837
But the fields must have the same names (I think - at least I make sure to give them that, just so I don't get confused) and parameters in order to successfully be appended, and, if you have a primary key the data must not be duplicated across the tables.
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2004
Messages
7,837
Well, your question was how to combine several tables into one table - for that you need to append data. A query - whether a standard one or a union - resides as information on how to display the data, but doesn't actually combine it. You could set up a query to display your data like it was one table, but it would still reside in several distinct tables.
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2007
Messages
152
Are you trying to add new fields to a table from another table or are you trying to add records of the same fields from one table to another?
 

bigbird9

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 23, 2007
Messages
35
13 of the 14 tables that need to be combined into one have then same fields. The 1 other I ws going to deal with later. Ideally I would like all 14.

The data has text in the first 6 columns then numbers in the following 72 columns.
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2004
Messages
7,837
If the 13 all have the same columns, I would make a copy of one and save it with a new name (e.g. all data), then run an append query 12 times (that is, based on the other 12 matching tables) with the new table as the one to merge into.
As for the other table, depending on how different it is laid out, I would alter the one that needs the least changing (without loss of data) - whether that entails inserting new blank columns in the all data table or putting them in the 14th table, either way, do that and then make sure the columns have matching names. Finally, do one more append query to the all data table.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top