Combining multiple Tables into one table

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

softspoken

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 22, 2010
Messages
55
I have 6 tables that have the same Column headings but different data that I need to combine into one table.

Can anyone explain in detail as I am a novice user how to do this.


(Access 2003)

Thank you
 

OBP

Joined
Mar 8, 2005
Messages
19,895
Hello again.
If the data is all completely different then you choose the Table that you want to keep it all in, or create a new one.
You then create a simple Select Query for one of the other tables, in design view change it on the main menu using "Query" to an "Append" query, Access will ask for the name of the table you want the data to go in and when you choose it it will match up the Field names for you. Run that Query and then either repeat the whole thing for another table or add another table to the query and reselect the Table for each field name and then delete the old table and run agian.
 

softspoken

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 22, 2010
Messages
55
Ok so guide me a little. I have 6 tables selected for this query ... i changed it to an append query ..and it asked me for the table name that I wanted everything to append to. I gave it the name .. and then what .. ? This is what I did. I selected all the field names from the table i wanted the data to go to and then i ran it.... and its locked right now .. was that right and will it append all of the tables ? I told you i was a novice user .. i need special guidence lol
 

OBP

Joined
Mar 8, 2005
Messages
19,895
You should only try and Append One table at a time, it may take a long time to run and Append a lot of extra records if you have more than one table in the query.
Try presses the esc key to stop it or close the database.
 

softspoken

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 22, 2010
Messages
55
ok so I am trying just 2 tables... added it to my append query... gave it the name of the table i wanted the information appended to ... and selected all of the field names from that table that the information is appending to ... and hit run ... its running ... but it wont end... i see some data and it looks right but its taking for ever.... when i click on show me the last record .. it takes for ever and then all of a sudden i have this in all the fields....."NAME#" can you help me with what im doing wrong.. thanks
 

OBP

Joined
Mar 8, 2005
Messages
19,895
When you say, "I am trying just 2 tables", do you mean just 1 table and the table to put the data in?
If you can email a copy of the database I can do it for you.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top