1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Combining two totally different networks

Discussion in 'Networking' started by opatrick, Aug 10, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. opatrick

    opatrick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    I am trying to work out a way of combining two networks from two (Internet Service Providers or ISPs. One network is for Internet, and the second one is for CCTV cameras. Both networks exist and are working independently, each with its own servers. I want to re-design the whole system such that at any one time t, a supervisor with an Internet connection in his office can be able to see what is happening on cctv cameras without contacting the cctv personnel.
    Can any one put there help me to see how the redesign can be possible?
     
  2. Phyxiis

    Phyxiis

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    If I might ask, why have two separate networks?


    Might want to try VNC or Remote Desktop (not sure how to connect outside of a LAN)

    Otherwise (not sure if it would work) if the CCTV server has multiple NICs, you could have two adapter settings. One NIC would be on the CCTV-ISP and the other NIC would have an IP address (private [192.168.x.x, 10.x.x.x, not public) for the INTERNET-ISP

    [​IMG]
     
  3. opatrick

    opatrick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Thanx for the reply. Now, the original design had two separate networks as I had pointed out earlier, but I am trying to redesign the same such that atleast some selected offices with internet can be able to view the cctv cameras. For now, these cameras cannot be viewed on Internet.
     
  4. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Didn't you say the cam network was not connected to the internet? How could anyone then view the cams on the internet?

    And why would you want to view the cams through the internet instead of directly?
     
  5. zx10guy

    zx10guy Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,371
    So I'm a bit unclear. The network with the CCTV cameras, is there an Internet connection? If so, what's the purpose of the Internet connection? Was it to allow connectivity to the cameras across the Internet? If so, what is the network setup for the CCTV network?
     
  6. opatrick

    opatrick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Sorry, I was a bit offline. Now, I pointed out clearly that there are two independent ISPs. One ISP (ISP 1) provides Internet to all the offices, and the other (ISP 2) strictly provides network connectivity for transmitting data from the CCTV cameras. But now, I am trying to redesign the system such that even a few selected offices served by ISP 1 can also be able to view what data transmitted from the CCTV cameras.
     
  7. zx10guy

    zx10guy Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,371
    So I'm assuming the circuit being provided by ISP 2 is a dedicated leased line. I'm also assuming that the other end of that circuit terminates to one of your offices. What does the network topology look like?
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1064617