Comcast Dropping Connection

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Shootter

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 2, 2019
Messages
2
Greetings All,

I've started having connection drop issues yet again with this Xfinity junk which I thought I had fixed and did for awhile. My SNR dB levels were ridiculously high at around 70-80 downstream which lead to my modem restarting on the frequent. I bought a Arris BDA-K1-RA Broadband drop Amp which fixed the issue but now my connection drops like once per day for up to an hour at a time.

Comcast customer support is a joke, refusal to send out a tech and all they want to do is "send a remote modem restart" - LOL like that helps.

I'll provide a snap of my network at the writing of this.

Any suggestions welcome.

-------
Wired Connection
New Coax cable connections/old coax cable running throughout house
No other running networks
Not using a router
 

Attachments

Last edited:

plodr

Liz
Joined
Jun 27, 2014
Messages
24,603
Insist they send out a tech who can measure the signal strength outside and inside your home at the modem and all the televisions.

Our home was built in 1955; I'm not sure when the previous owners installed cable (Comcast). We even had 2 wires coming into the house.
Sometime around 2006 - 2008, I had the same problem. They insisted it was my modem. (Bought at Bestbuy because I don't want to give Comcast a rental fee.) I bought a new modem and the same thing happened. I called and complained and a tech was sent out who determined the signal wasn't strong enough - that's why it kept dropping.

If you need to, call everyday and ask to be bumped up to a higher level tech support person.
 

DaveA

David
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 16, 1999
Messages
17,287
We have had issue like this. One time, it was a kinked cable, as the sun warmed up the cable, it would stretch and then break connection.
Then a couple of times, the connection boxes would fill with Seattle rain and that would stop the connection.
Stranger things have happened, and Mother Nature will always throw a kink or in the way.
 

askey127

Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 22, 2006
Messages
3,722
What frequently happens is that Comcast raises the network speed, and older equipment like splitters and older cable setups cannot keep up.
I would suggest having a Comcast tech look at the cable setup, and the signal at every cable connector socket you use.
Should be easy to fix, but not by yourself. If your signal is corrupted or level too low, they may install a new booster at the cable entry point.
Some of the older installations have cable outlets daisy-chained so that every one except the last in the chain needed to have a splitter.
In my case, they added a cable amp at the entry point and changed the cable connection splitters to new wide bandwidth models in every room. (Behind the jack panels).
Those modifications didn't cost me any extra per month. Don't know whether you would incur a service call fee.
 

Shootter

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 2, 2019
Messages
2
Thanks for the info folks. Ill try again to get a tech sent out, I think this old house needs new everything hah.
 

plodr

Liz
Joined
Jun 27, 2014
Messages
24,603
Well our home was built in 1955. As far as I know, the inside cabling hasn't been touched. Our home is so old that we don't have ethernet jacks except in one room where I got an electrician to install a phone jack and ethernet jack. (We have really old style 4 plug units for phone jacks.)

One tech came and added an amplifier. Another tech came and said we didn't need the amplifier. (I just let them do what they think and if it doesn't work, I keep complaining.)
The one tech that came actually made a new short cable between the wall and the cable modem.
He couldn't do much for the tvs because the wire comes from the basement and through the floor to the 4 tvs.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top