1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Comma delimited ascii files

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by Faerious, Aug 14, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Faerious

Faerious Thread Starter

I need to export data from excel into comma delimited text (ascii) file so that i can import it into another program. I've never done this before but here's what I did... I saved the excel file as a csv, opened the csv with wordpad and did a 'save as' from there to get the .txt extension. The data in the text file appears to be in the exact format I need
    (0, "Text", 1, 3, 0) but the program I am trying to import it into doesn't like it ('invalid record' or something like that). Did I do something wrong in the process of arriving at my .txt file?

2. jimr381

jimr381

First Name:
    Jim
    There are two CSV formats. One for dos one for windows. I have not heard of any issues with either or, but the program might be picky. Try exporting as the other file type. There is also a file type that actually ends in .csv and that might be what it is wanting as well.

3. kiwiguy

kiwiguy

The recipient program may not like the " (quotes) around the text.

You may need to use Wordpad or similar and do a global find and replace (replace with nothing).

4. ChuckE

ChuckE

I am assuming that the other program is actually another spreadsheet program. What are you trying to get this data into? what application?

If it isn't a spreadsheet program, then what I'm about to say may not be correct.