1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

command and conquer generals/zero hour problem

Discussion in 'Games' started by danielno8, Feb 15, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. danielno8

    danielno8 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    289
    Hi, i am havin a problem with c&c generals and zero hour. When the game starts loading the ea logo, it crashes. it is like jitters, only the pauses are for like 10 seconds, then it will move a little bit more, wait 10 seconds load a bit more etc. i have changed the driver around to no avail. updated direct x to 9.0c. direct x passes all tests also. i am dual booting, and on the other system it plays both games perfectly, with the same driver i have currently installed, and with direct x 9.0c. i have tried uninstallin and re-installin but no joy there either. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    P.S i have found a temporary solution by skipping the movie intros and going straight to the main menu. but i'd like to not have to do that as i know it should be able!

    Thanks

    Daniel
     
  2. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    32,499
    First Name:
    James
    what video card are you using and what operating system?
     
  3. danielno8

    danielno8 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    289
    oops sorry, lol, XP Pro and an (xfx) FX 5600 Ultra

    Thanks
     
  4. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    32,499
    First Name:
    James
    it's possible that the CD may be corrupt. Have you tried the CD in another machine or if someone else has the CD?
     
  5. danielno8

    danielno8 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    289
    i am pretty sure it is not the CD though as it works on the other system (dual-booting remember).

    Thanks for the reply

    Any other ideas?

    Daniel
     
  6. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    32,499
    First Name:
    James
    hold on you said you are using the same drivers?

    That might be the problem. Win 9x drivers would be different to XP ones, if thats the setup you are using. Download the OS's specific drivers and see if that works. Note that the location of the drivers for both OS will be different so it should not overwrite each other.
     
  7. danielno8

    danielno8 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    289
    nah its both XP pro systems. exact same setup with drivers/direct x etc.

    anythin else i can try?

    Daniel
     
  8. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    32,499
    First Name:
    James
    if the setup is the same then it beats me...
     
  9. danielno8

    danielno8 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    289
    oh right ok!

    Can anyone else help? please!

    Thanks for tryin mate!

    Daniel
     
  10. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    32,499
    First Name:
    James
    one question, is the problem the same for C&C: Generals or just C&C: Zero Hour?
     
  11. danielno8

    danielno8 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    289
    its the same for both of them!
     
  12. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    32,499
    First Name:
    James
    EA Lames so called technical help

    In order to get C&C running I had to install the latest FIRMWARE (not driver)for the CD drive that I have. It may help you. I know that LITE-ON drives have issues with C&C: Generals, that's why i had to update the firmware.
     
  13. danielno8

    danielno8 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    289
    yeah there technical support is pretty rank!

    i don't think it is the CD drive with me however as it works on the other system.

    when we get this workin we will have a game of generals/zero hour to celebrate if you still play?

    Daniel
     
  14. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    32,499
    First Name:
    James
    You still need to update your firmware if you haven't done so already. My drive is pretty new and still needed to be updated to run C&C.

    As for the game, no prob (y)
     
  15. danielno8

    danielno8 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    289
    yeah but generals and zero hour run perfect on the other system? so i dnt see how updatin it will make it work?

    Thanks
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/330793

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice