1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Command Intrepreter

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by LiLJay, Dec 24, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. LiLJay

    LiLJay Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    3
    I'm typically a Mac user so I feel like I'm using my left hand when I use a PC. I was just given a Micron Millenia XKU PC. It came with Windows 95 but I installed Windows 98. My friend installed a bunch of programs for me (I don't even know which ones yet) and ever since I can't get my computer booted up. It boots DOS and then it begins to boot Windows but I always get the message:

    Type the name of the command interpreter (e.g. C\Windows\Command.com)

    It never gets to the Windows screen.

    I've tried booting in safe mode and it doesn't work. Any ideas of what could be wrong?
     
  2. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
  3. LiLJay

    LiLJay Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    3
    I've read the bad file or command.com article. What is the MS-DOS 6.x upgrade setup Disk? I don't think I have it.

    Thanks!
     
  4. Paul Nagel

    Paul Nagel

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 1999
    Messages:
    1,843
    Dos 6 is an older Windows system. If possible, it would probably be best to start over with a clean install of Win98. I would have your friend help again if i were you.
     
  5. MHSCodeMaster

    MHSCodeMaster

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    30
    I agree with (above). Just have your friend (or the local computer guru) clean the slate, and install Win98.

    In other words, you need to format your hard disk, and use a Win98 boot disk w/ the full version. If all you have is the Win98 upgrade, then you'll need to obtain the full version. (If you have to buy the full version, stick with 98 instead of ME if the computer is older than about a year and a half. Older computers just can't handle WinME's resourse gourging.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/62816

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice