1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Command Prompt Problem

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by techman87, Jul 18, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. techman87

    techman87 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Every time I try to run command prompt it says "The command prompt has been disabled by your administrator." It says that even though I AM the administrator. Even when I change the registry value and re-enable it, when I turn it off and then back on I still get "The command prompt has been disabled by your administrator." Any help appreciated.
     
  2. Frank4d

    Frank4d Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,126
    Start > Run > gpedit.msc and navigate to User Configuration > Administrative Templates > System. Highlight "Prevent access to the command prompt", right click then click Properties. The default setting is "Not configured".
     
  3. techman87

    techman87 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Tried that first I set it to disabled and the back to not configured, it worked at first, but when I turned my computer off and the back on I still got "The command prompt has been disabled by your administrator." Something is wrong here.
     
  4. devil_himself

    devil_himself

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    4,910

    Do it again .... Then.....

    Download this regfile
    Line 30 --- Windows XP Doesn't Save User Settings
    http://www.kellys-korner-xp.com/xp_tweaks.htm

    Merge it with registry

    Lets see if this fixes it
     
  5. techman87

    techman87 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Not even that worked! I am starting to think that some malware is causing this.
     
  6. techman87

    techman87 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Thanks for your help, command is normal again, and yes it was the result of spyware.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/597451

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice