1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Comments on New PC Build

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Nepsa, Feb 21, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Nepsa

    Nepsa Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Messages:
    141
    First Name:
    David
    This is a list of my New Build PC. This machine is for Video Editing. I do a lot of home video and my existing factory machine just can’t handle the load. I would appreciate your comments and suggestions. This is my first new build; however, I have changed about everything in a PC one time or another.

    Case: Ultra X-Blaster Black ATX Mid-Tower Case with Front USB, FireWire and Audio Ports
    http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=2337810&CatId=32
    I selected because of the front media ports, the two 120 mm fan ports and as equally important, under the 19” height restriction.

    CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz 4M shared L2 Cache LGA 775 Processor
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819115003

    Motherboard: Intel BOXD975XBX2KR LGA 775 Intel 975X ATX Intel
    Motherboard
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813121059
    I selected this one for growth, 8 SATA ports and supports IDE and RAID


    Hard Drive: Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (Perpendicular Recording) ST3500630AS 500GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16822148136

    I have had several Seagate IDE hard drives and they have done well. Also, I felt the SATA drive would be faster for Video editing work.


    Power: Thermaltake Purepower W0129RU ATX12V 600 W Power Supply 115/230 V CE, FCC, UL, CUL, TUV certification
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16817153042


    Memory: CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory (Times 2—4 GIG)
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820145590

    Want plenty of RAM for editing.

    DVD Drive: SAMSUNG Black 18X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 8X DVD+R DL 18X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 12X DVD-RAM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 32X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM 2MB Cache SATA DVD Burner With LightScribe Technology
    http://www.newegg.com/product/product.asp?item=N82E16827151141

    Like the SATA as well as the LightScribe for Videos

    Floppy Drive: SAMSUNG Black 1.44MB 3.5" Internal Floppy Drive Model SFD321B/LBL1
    http://www.newegg.com/product/product.asp?item=N82E16821103203


    Still need to select:
    --- heatsink for the CPU
    ---- Video Card
     
  2. replay

    replay

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Messages:
    5,354
    well....just a few comments
    your system looks great....i'm not a big fan of ultra cases,i tend to think they appeal to the cheaper end of the market....and all your componants are top notch ........i'm a big fan of aluminum cases, look for a 120mm fan intake and exhaust
    that intel board is $$$ expensive $$$$ have u looked at the asus pb line (pb-e deluxe) and the gigabyte ds3 in my sig?
    i have that exact tt psu in my new build it is great but 1 thing to note is that if u have a windowed case the connections are "daisy chained" look at the pics @ newegg.... no biggie but i don't care for it much
    check out the zalman 9500 or its big brother 9700 for your core 2 duo heatsink (excellent)
     
  3. telegramsam

    telegramsam

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,085
    Excellent choices.

    If you aren't overclocking the (which you won't be doing with an Intel board), the stock heat sink and fan is all you need.

    For video cards, look at ATI x1950x series or Nvidia 8800GT series. Those are the top end cards right now.

    If you have one of these cards and 2GB of RAM, with the E6600, you'll tear through video with no problem.

    Don't forget an operating system.
     
  4. replay

    replay

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Messages:
    5,354
    the first review on the intel mobo page mentions "good overclocking abilities" :confused:
     
  5. telegramsam

    telegramsam

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,085
    Exactly why I don't read those reviews.

    CONS: You must set a jumper on the board to reset the BIOS if the overclocking fails.???
    Never had that happen to me before!!! :D
     
  6. Nepsa

    Nepsa Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Messages:
    141
    First Name:
    David
    Thanks for the information on the heatsink and video card. I don't plan to do any overclocking at all. I am going to stick with Windows XP until the smoke clears on Vista.

    I had plan to have 4 gig of memory. You feel 2 gig will be enough for video editing?
     
  7. telegramsam

    telegramsam

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,085
    IMO--good idea to wait on Vista.

    XP 32 bit only sees around 3 GB. It's pretty rare that even 2GB gets floored--especially 2GB of DDR2 800 or 667.

    You have to go to 64 bit to use more than that, and 64 bit is not recommended at this time. Too unstable, not great driver support.

    Now if you want to GET 4GB, use what you can, and have it there and ready for Vista 64 bit when you feel it's time to make that upgrade, then go ahead and put it in, it won't hurt anything. But it's an extra $200.00 you could save now.
     
  8. Nepsa

    Nepsa Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Messages:
    141
    First Name:
    David
    Thanks for that explanation. I am always happy to save $200. I plan to start getting my hardware together soon. I will compare prices for the best deals. i need to jump on the memory right away while the rebate is still valid. Thanks again. I will be back when I start the building process.
     
  9. Nepsa

    Nepsa Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Messages:
    141
    First Name:
    David
    I have a concern on the memory (CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory) compatibliity for my Motherboard (BOXD975XBX2KR LGA 775 Intel 975X ATX Intel Motherboard ) The CORSAIR website list an Intel Motherboard BOXD975XBXLKR RATHER THAN the BOXD975XBX2KR with a digit "2".

    Is that a concern?

    Thanks Nepsa
     
  10. bigbear

    bigbear

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    4,719
    I think you will find the 2 is because they are sold as a pair, its still the same memory.
    Also I would consider two drives instead of one large, one for backup.
    Raid 0 would also give you some speed advantage
    http://www.acnc.com/04_01_00.html
     
  11. Nepsa

    Nepsa Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Messages:
    141
    First Name:
    David
    The "2" is on the Motherboard ID, not the memory ID. Could you clear that up.
    Thanks

    Nepsa
     
  12. Nepsa

    Nepsa Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Messages:
    141
    First Name:
    David
    Ran Guy from CORSAIR emailed and notified me the memory is 100% compatible!

    Thanks
     
  13. Nepsa

    Nepsa Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Messages:
    141
    First Name:
    David
    My remaining hardware will be in this week and plan to start the my building process next week after I read all the documents over and over. I also have PC Mechanic "Build Your Own PC" book.

    I have two questions. I decided to go with two WD Caviar SE 16 320 GB drives. (Got a great deal) How do you feel about RAID 1. If I do use RAID 1, can I add a third sata drive later without raid and continue to use the first two with RAID? I also have TWO existing External Drives that I backup my data files weekly (I have this fear of loosing my valuable family pictures).
    Second-- I wanted to reuse my Windows XP from my old PC that died, however it is a upgrade version and I am not sure it will load. I do have a Boot CD from the Upgrade Windows XP. I have the Full version of windows ME that was on the system prior to XP, but my new Motherboard will not support ME to load first and then to use my XP upgrade version. Short version, anyway to load the upgrade version?

    Thanks

    Nepsa
     
  14. bigbear

    bigbear

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    4,719
    I don't really see Raid 1 has much use for the home user, it has more use in a server where downtime is more critical in the event of hardrive failure
    As you have covered the backup scenario, Raid O will give you more of a speed increase
    As you have an original copy of ME you can still install from an upgrade version on XP, you will be required to put the ME disc it into the cdrom when required for conformity.
    Has the XP disc got SP2 pre installed?
    If not slipstream SP2 onto a new cd using Autostreamer
    http://www.softpedia.com/get/Tweak/System-Tweak/Autostreamer.shtml
     
  15. Nepsa

    Nepsa Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Messages:
    141
    First Name:
    David
    Thanks Bigbear, will I still be able to install a third sata drive using non-RAID 0? Not sure if i will, but would like to know before I set up the RAID. My XP did not come with SP 2 nor SP1. I will have alot of updates to do.

    Thanks
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/546112

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice