1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Common Sims 2 Problems

Discussion in 'Games' started by CoasterFreak, Oct 23, 2004.

Advertisement
  1. CoasterFreak

    CoasterFreak Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,330
    You're experiencing a video card problem. What video card do you have?
     
  2. Piratealice

    Piratealice

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    on October 21st I was given Sims 2 as a gift. I loaded it and when I ran the game the Tutorial wouldn't work and the pre-loaded neighborhoods didn't show up. I uninstalled it and re-installed, still didn't work. Returned the CD version for a new one....same problem. Contacted EA Games....they were rather unhelpful and could only suggest trying the DVD version, traded in the CD version for the "Special DVD Edition" (and bought a DVD player for my computer) and....at first run after loading the game it worked, the neighborhoods were there, the tutorial was working, I was going through it building a house and when I went to put siding on my house the game crashed....I shut down my computer since it was very late anyway and went to bed. The next day....Back to the same original problem, when I run the game, the pre-loaded neighborhoods aren't there (only the "build new neighborhood" is an option no other buttons show up) and when I click on stuff to run the tutorial, it just goes back to that menu and it doesn't run at all. WHAT is going on? Is ANYONE ELSE having this problem?
     
  3. sims_fan2004

    sims_fan2004

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    ThugedOut,
    thanks for the help, I'll hopefully be getting my laptop this week so I'll let you know how I get on.
     
  4. eatusfoetus

    eatusfoetus

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Messages:
    105
    Hi I'm not sure what graphics card I have running on my pc, it was the one the machine came with so I'm guessing its low spec. But if the graphics card was too crappy wouldnt it just not allow me to play the game?
     
  5. CoasterFreak

    CoasterFreak Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,330
    Depends on how crappy it is..lol I would upgrade to a better video card anyway, they give you a better playing experience.
     
  6. CoasterFreak

    CoasterFreak Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,330
    WOW....this is a first. The only other thing I can think of is something inside your computer does not agree with the game. Now see, at this time I would tell you to contact Maxis via www.thesims2.com, but you've already done that...soooo....can you try running it on a different computer? Give me the following information, I'll try and fix it:
    1) PC Make/Model
    2)Video Card Make/Model
    3) Amt. of RAM (Memory)
    4) Amt. of HD Space
    5) Processor Speed
    Thanx, I'll try to help you.
     
  7. Crystaline

    Crystaline

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Nevermind, I got the reinstallation to work! Turns out that something just went off with the copied disc, so I just copied another one. Thanks for the help anyway.
     
  8. eatusfoetus

    eatusfoetus

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Messages:
    105
    Hey Thugedout, thanks for the info. You've convinced me to upgrade to a decent video card. Only problem being I'll have to ebay the Sims2 to part fund it! hehe. Any suggestions on a good video card at a good price?

    Thanks again.

    EF.
     
  9. CoasterFreak

    CoasterFreak Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,330
    I have a GeForce FX 5200 which is really decent. I got it for $79.99 You could go with an ATI Radeon, which is what I would go with, only because my laptop has an ATI Radeon and it runs better on my laptop than on my desktop. But if you want to go cheaper with good performace, get the FX 5200, 128MB.
     
  10. tajaemax

    tajaemax

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Messages:
    190
    Various members of my family have started to exhibit strange behavior. They will mess up a word in a sentence and instead of going back and fixing it they start speaking in gibberish to which the other will respond!!! They will for no apparent reason throw up their hand shake their heads and walk off in the middle of whatever they where doing. They spend countless hours in front of their computers watching load screens with bad music.

    My questions
    1: Should I be worried about them?
    2: Is this contagious?
    3: Is there a way to get better music?
    4: What is a Bellagoth or should I ask?
    5: If you are the resident Maxis expert what are you doing here instead of playing the Sims 2?

    If you find this post to be out of place I can shorten it to question 3 only.
     
  11. CoasterFreak

    CoasterFreak Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,330
    If there was an award for the most random thing said in the world, I think you may have just won it...lmfao
     
  12. Goodsong

    Goodsong

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Hi and thanks very much for this thread...


    My question concerns the graphics card in my daughter's pc, on which Sims2 is loaded.
    Here are the pc specs:

    PC Make/Model- Emachines EMA T1742 (I believe)

    Video Card- ATI All-in-Wonder 128 PCI

    RAM- 384mb

    HD Space- One 40gb WD drive(15gb Free space), and one 20gb WD drive (16gb Free space)

    Processor speed- Celeron 1.70ghz CPU

    ______

    Although Sims2 seems to work OK, the graphics aren't near what they should be (according to my daughter). In my limited knowledge of graphics cards for gameware, I had installed the above ATI 128 from an older pc hoping it would help the graphics, but it didn't. The main problem is this pc came with no AGP slot...all it has are 3 PCI slots. So, are there any PCI graphics cards that will work well with Sims2?

    thank you so much for any advice...
    -Goodsong
     
  13. CoasterFreak

    CoasterFreak Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,330
  14. Goodsong

    Goodsong

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Thank you so much.....one reason I've been a little confused, is that 'someone' (another Sims user in a chat room, I think) advised my daughter that the graphics card has to be 'T&L compatible', and that the card had to be an AGP card. So I'm very relieved that it will work well with a PCI card.

    I truly appreciate your help.

    -Goodsong
     
  15. CoasterFreak

    CoasterFreak Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,330
    Nah, AGP doesn't matter, just as long as it is T&L Capable and follows the guidelines of Sims 2 requirements.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/287910