Comodo firewall

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

joeitalo

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 6, 2008
Messages
35
Hi I'm not sure this firewall is needed however I do want to remain safe. IMy security consist of win firewall Nod 32 and I am using a linksys router wired. I installed comodo and a few things have already started acting up,mind you I have just installed 20 hrs ago. I have been told win.firewall is enough and I've been told it's notI personally don't have a clue Help all opinions and input helpful THANKS JOEI
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
What OS? If you have XP SP2 or Vista, the Windows firewall is fine, though not so easily configurable. Comodo is very good, too, but be sure to use just one to avoid problems and shut off the Windows firewall if using a third-party one.
 

joeitalo

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 6, 2008
Messages
35
So sorry I am using win vista ,home premium, with COMODO I think I got a little excited with comodo when I woke MY pc up this morning there was all kinds of open firewall apps and my usb devices were all saying malfuctioning hardware. Comodo was the only thing I changed in the last week or so. I have been running since and I am so far so good But I am still unsure what to do with win firewall and am I better of with COMDO and or both Thank youJ oe
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2008
Messages
45
Never run two firewalls at the same time. The Vista one is fine, why do you feel you need a third party one?
 

NICK G

Banned
Joined
Sep 11, 2006
Messages
725
Vista Comodo Firewall had bug regarding Vista updates. Don't know if it has been cleared yet.
Comodo is not the easiest to set up before you stop getting all the notices.
Vista firewall, behind a router, a spyware/virus scanner and you'll be good to go.:)
 

joeitalo

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 6, 2008
Messages
35
I have since done some changes and moved my esed nod 32 and comodo to my HP desktop and I am now trying kaspersky internet security suite on my biuld. so far so good but I think I may have taken a speed quality step for the worst but if i am going to be safe, I 'll sacrifice a little speed. I'm not to familiar with Kasperski I heard it was good..Thanks for your help if your curious about how this software works for me I'll be glad to post my opinion. for whatever its worth my computer knowledge is @ novice level. Joe
 

joeitalo

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 6, 2008
Messages
35
Advice from forum so many otheres say that win is not enough. I have never had any problem with it .
 

karbo

Banned
Joined
Sep 2, 2003
Messages
2,239
I'm sure the Vista or XP firewall is just fine to stop incoming attacks but what about undesired outgoing trojan communications? I heard the Windows firewall didn't cover outgoing attacks.
 

karbo

Banned
Joined
Sep 2, 2003
Messages
2,239
As for Kaspersky, I've tried it and didn't like it. Too many pop-ups and questions asked by the firewall. Really complicated to configure. ESET Smart Security is what I use. Simplicity, effectiveness, quickness (antivirus takes only 8 minutes to scan my whole system compared to 18 minutes for Kaspesky). NOD32 as an excellent reputation and won a lot of awards over the years.

Since I uninstalled the free trial version of Kaspersky Internet Security because of the thousands of pop-ups for every little application, I'm sure not going to try Comodo with its millions of pop-ups! They should be aware that a large part of computer users out there have no idea what to answer or how to configure the right settings. Keep it simple but effective.

Personaly, I use ESET Smart Security, combined with SuperAntiSpyware and Spywareblaster. I keep good surfing habits and stay away from porn sites and other possible malware infested websites. I keep my Windows updated for security. Oh yeah, don't forget to stay away from file sharing (P2P, torrents,...) the worst medium for infections.
 

joeitalo

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 6, 2008
Messages
35
I like the way you think and I do have eset as well as kaspersky I'm currently using both on two seperat PC's pf course and I'm happy with both. I am watching how they work becuase I am new at both and so far eset is invisible and Kaspersky does have moments of anoying questions but I like it, It seems to be trouble free and I don't THINK its using near as much as symantec :may it rest in peace. fair to say however I've been using norton since I got into this hobbie and I never had an issue with viruses or any of that good stuff, atleast not that I'm aware of ..Thanks Joeitalo
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top