1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Comp doesn't start up

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by 02098, Jul 16, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. 02098

    02098 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    112
    Was working fine last night, this morning it won't boot/ turn on.
    Changed the power lead with another comp and still nothing.
    I've checked and rechecked all the leads/ loose connc so ruled that out.
    I'm thinking its a power supply issue, but no clue really. I opened it up and nothing looked fried or smelt burnt.It's my dads basic email/net comp so i'm just looking for possible causes before i take it into a shop and get ripped off by knowing nothing : /

    amd semp 3000+
    asus k8v-vm via k8m890
    transcend 512mb ram
    some crappy case supplied 400w psu
    Xp home
     
  2. MaverickUK

    MaverickUK

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    941
    Hey,

    If you hear no fans spin up or hard drives power up, then the PSU is the issue. If they do spin up etc then the PSU still may be the issue, you are best changing the PSU for a known working one to see if its working. Also look at the pins of the PSU (the connectors) and see if they are burnt-out.
     
  3. 02098

    02098 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    112
    hi,
    Nothing turns on or starts, fans lights etc.
    i don't really know how to change the power supply, and don't want to screw up my comp :p
    But if its a power supply issue it shouldn't cost a lot to replace, and i think the comp is still under 1 year parts warr. I'll probably take it in tomorrow, thanks for the help.
     
  4. kev1952

    kev1952

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    351
    You're on the right track there - if it's under warranty then don't fiddle with it. Take it to the service agent for repair.
     
  5. shaheel16

    shaheel16

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    well.. It happened once with me.. U know sometimes due to humidity in air the pc happens not bein able to boot.. well I used a hairdryer on al the parts[ ram,graphics cards,hdisk and around the cpu case]. after couple mins of warm up..the pc was on again... well try zis and goodluck.. i hope it recovers..
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/596363

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice