1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Comp freezes while playin WoW

Discussion in 'Games' started by Gygia, Oct 16, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Gygia

Gygia Thread Starter

i have been playing wow on this computer for over 2 yrs now an just recently oh id say with in the last 2 months alot of strange graphical issues have been happening, like lines from 1 point to another that are not suppose to be there an occasionally my screen would flicker usually followed with a total freeze, an the only thing i could do is reset it. now that was happening maybe once or twice a week but now it happens every 10 to 15 mins maybe even less. i have bought a new graphics card which should be here tomorrow(10/17/08) i just wanted to see if there could be another possible explanation(i know there could be endless things wrong)

2. Classics

Classics

Just a shot in the dark, but I heard that Blizzard improved the graphics in WoW. Try disabling the new effects (I think realistic shadows was one of them).
    Also try using the repair utility that is located in the WoW folder in your program files.

3. sup2a

sup2a

Blizzard do that a fair bit, but that shouldn't be causing stuff like that, Id say its a heat issue, clean out your case of all the dust, download speedfan and monitor the temperatures while playing, then post them back here.

4. Gygia

Gygia Thread Starter

gpu 111f-113f system 115-118f cpu 97f-102f aux 98f core 84-88 core 120f-128f ambient 32f cant play more then 2 mins the screen flickers an either i log out or freeze, i did the repair also did nothin

5. Tanis

Tanis

First Name:
    Shane