1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Comp Help "rnaapp"

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by wiseguyz408, Apr 13, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. wiseguyz408

    wiseguyz408 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    70
    Ok Lets take it from the top I have gotten several problems all in the corse of a day.

    1) When i tryed to turn on my computer i recieved the message on a black screen "no boot record found system haulted". After several times of letting it rest and then re starting i finally was able to get into windows.

    2) When i got past that and the noraml black boot screen came up the error messages came up "To Many Parameters" And "ERROR: Cannot import c:\link.reg: File not found". Then after about 10 seconds it dissapers and windows starts normally. This happends now everytime i start my computer.

    3) When i got past that and i get into my computer it runs very odd. The computer Semi-Freezes for about 30 seconds every so often. It usually happens when I move my mouse to fast or open a folder or program.

    3) When I tryed to connect to the internet ( I am on 56k Wallmart Connect) i Received the error message "Port is invalid or Busy".

    4) I opened my task list manager and noticed a program running that i had never before seen called "rnaapp". If i end task on this program it reappears everytime i restart.

    5) When i end task on "rnaapp" the freezing stops and i am able to connect to the internet. But once i connect to the internet "rnaapp" re appears in the task list and the freezing starts again. If i try to end task on "rnaapp" while connected to the internet i am disconnected and receieve the error message "WMM has caused an illegal operation and must be shut down"

    My virus definitions are up to date and it does not detect any virusus or spyware. I am totally clueless as to what is happening and it is keeping me from using my computer properly. Any Help on fixing this would be appreciated.

    Thanks,
    Ron

    my email adress is [email protected]
    If any help can be given i would appreicate if possible it can be sent there.
     
  2. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,007
    First Name:
    Frank
    RNAAPP will appear in the Close Program window when your 56K dial-up connection is active. If you End Task it, your connection will be cut off.
     
  3. telecom69

    telecom69 Gone but never forgotten

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2001
    Messages:
    9,807
    A little bit of information for you to go on,will look for more

    rnaapp - rnaapp.exe - Process Information
    Process File: rnaapp or rnaapp.exe
    Process Name: Windows Modem Connection
    Description: Windows Dial-Up Networking application that handles dial-up modem connections. RNAAPP only appears in your Task List if your computer tries or tried to dial out at some stage or if the computer is waiting for an in-bound connection using Dial-Up Networking.
    Company: Microsoft Corp.
    System Process: Yes
    Security Risk ( Virus/Trojan/Worm/Adware/Spyware ): No
    Common Errors: N/A
     
  4. Firah

    Firah

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    Messages:
    765
    What OS are you running, and what are the computer specs?
     
  5. wiseguyz408

    wiseguyz408 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    70
    Windows 98SE
    Dial Up 56k- Walmart Connect
     
  6. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    Probaly a dialer virus. Get the latest virus defs and do a full scan. If you AV software is Norton I would try to run a free one off the internet. Try housecall at TrenMicro's web site.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/219865

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice