1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Comp is displaying in Safe Mode..

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by Ramgon1280, Feb 4, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Ramgon1280

    Ramgon1280 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Messages:
    120
    I have Windows ME. When I start up, if it starts up at all without freezing first, it displays in what appears to be Safe Mode, but it isnt. It just looks like it. Video driver maybe? I also cant access the safe mode option when the comp is starting up. I hold Ctrl but it ignores it and proceeds to start up with this display. Also, the mouse isnt responding. Any thoughts? Any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. hl5

    hl5

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    128
    It sounds like a video problem, but what do you mean the mouse isn't responding? Did that start happening at the same time? That would be a strange video driver problem, but it's possible I guess. Did you do anything before this started occurring? Any software or hardware changes? If it is a video driver problem, you could try updating the driver. (Just go to the website of your video card/chip manufacturer, or to the site of your computer manufacturer.) But video driver problems don't usually just start right out of the blue.

    If you've only booted the computer a few times since this started happening, you could try using scanreg to restore old settings.

    (If it's a registry (settings) problem, perhaps you have an older version of the registry somewhere on your computer. You could look for a file on your hard drive about the same size as the file SYSTEM.DAT in your Windows folder -- probably called SYSTEM.BAK or something like that. SYSTEM.DAT will be a hidden file, so you'll have to unhide hidden system files to see it. If you find a similar-sized file that sounds like it might be a backup, check back here and someone might be able to help you swap that for your newer settings file -- might or might not fix it.*)

    You can always try reinstalling Windows over what you have now. That sometimes solves quirks like this.

    Maybe someone has encountered this exact problem, because I don't think I have myself (the mouse problem and the safe mode problem are strange).

    Also make sure you don't have viruses or adware. When you get everything up and running, put a firewall on there as well.


    *Edit: might want to re-hide those system files again when you're done if you're afraid you might mess something up.
     
  3. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
    Go to Start->Run, type Msconfig and click Ok. Launch System Restore and restore the computer to a previous functional state.
     
  4. Ramgon1280

    Ramgon1280 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Messages:
    120
    Ok, I went to Run and typed in "scanreg", it said that something was wrong with the registry and proceeded to fix it. It looks like it just went back to a previous restore point which is fine, but after looking around to see what changed, I cant view any of the contents of the Control Panel... any thoughts... i also cant use my msn messenger, a box pops up saying that I am not connected to the internet, but I am. Thanks again for your help!
     
  5. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
    You can select from Start->Accessories->SystemTools->System Restore - or - Start->Run, type Msconfig, click Ok. Lauch System Restore.

    Do not use the command Scanreg thru Run while in Windows, you should use the Scanregw.exe instead. Lauching System Restore will restore all system files to a previous date, rather than fixing the registry.
     
  6. hl5

    hl5

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    128
    Ramgon1280,

    If you're still around...

    The scanreg command in Windows will let you determine if there's a problem with your settings, but you can't use it to actually restore your old settings from within Windows. JSR is right, in ME you can restore settings from MSConfig. If there's an error in your registry (settings) file, you should probably try to fix it. Windows is supposed to do some of this housecleaning type stuff automatically but it's not foolproof. If you can't restore to an early enough setting, you can try looking for an old registry backup file on your computer somewhere (which I started to explain before).

    All of this assumes that the registry is the problem. And it may not be. It might help to add info about when this starting happening, etc.

    p.s. You can also try one of the many registry utilities out there. If you don't know where to start, you could try this link -- http://www.registry-repair-software-review.toptenreviews.com/ -- any of the top few listed there should be OK. This is not the cheapest solution, however, and might not fix the problem.
     
  7. SamN

    SamN

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    I'm having the exact same problem-640x480 at 16 colors with no mouse or even cursor to speak of...
     
  8. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
    Hi Sam. You wiill need to open a new thread, as dealing with more than one issue per thread will make things confusing. When opening the thread, explain in details the issue and actions taken prior to the same such as, installing new hardware or new programs.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Comp displaying Safe
  1. Sypherdin
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    405
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/326861

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice