comp only able to see a few devices on network

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

treybert

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 19, 2011
Messages
5
I am having a odd problem with one of the two brand new vostro desktops running windows 7 home. On the problem comp (which I will name as compProblem), it is only able to see 3 out of the 10 devices on the network. The 3 it does see are always the same, all of which are running vista.

The devices it cannot see are:
NAS
the other new vostro (windows 7)
2 xp machines

Both vostros are supposedly identical and are attached to the network via the same switch. Only compProblem though is experiencing this issue.

Here is what I have tried so far:
installed a new network card
verified everything is on the same workgroup
verified sharing is on
verified compProblem can ping every device it can't see (both by IP and comp name.... ie \\bpi-drive)
'net view' only returns 'there are no entries in the list', but 'net view \\bpi-drive' works properly
I have run lanscan, but it does nothing since 'net view' returns nothing.
reverted compProblem to dell factory defaults

Run from another computer on the network, lanscan returns:

LANscanner v1.3 - ScottiesTech.Info

Scanning LAN...

BPI-CODY 192.168.2.33 <--------compProblem
BPI-DRIVE 192.168.2.203 00-00-00-00-00-00 WORKGROUP MASTER
BPI-GRAPHICS-PC 192.168.2.31 84-2B-2B-90-EF-15 WORKGROUP
BPI-SANDRA02 192.168.2.23 00-24-E8-27-D1-2C WORKGROUP
BPI-TREY 192.168.2.4 00-20-18-D9-D1-DB WORKGROUP
BPI-TREYBERT 192.168.2.210 00-1A-A0-63-45-DF WORKGROUP MASTER
MICROSOF-RTATN5 Ping Failed!
SANDRA2-BPI 192.168.2.12 B8-AC-6F-4B-C0-8D WORKGROUP
SEAN-PC 192.168.2.14 00-24-2C-45-99-72 WORKGROUP

Press any key to exit...'\\BPI-DRIVE\volume1_public\temp'
CMD.EXE was started with the above path as the current directory.
UNC paths are not supported. Defaulting to Windows directory.


As the only really important device compProblem needs to access is the nas, I can easily map the drive via static IP. It is just bothering me something fierce that I can't figure out what the issue is. Hopefully its something really simple. Any help would be appreciated, thanks.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,833
... it is only able to see 3 out of the 10 devices on the network.
This "see" is referring to what appears in the Network window?

Please show for the problem computer ...

Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
(For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

Type the following commands:

nbtstat -n

IPCONFIG /ALL

[Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
 

treybert

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 19, 2011
Messages
5
Thanks for the reply


Yes 'see' refers to items in the network window.



Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\ctaylor>nbtstat -n

Local Area Connection 2:
Node IpAddress: [192.168.2.33] Scope Id: []

No names in cache

C:\Users\ctaylor>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : bpi-cody
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : att.net

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : att.net
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Ethernet
NIC
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-27-19-C2-72-C1
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::9930:f5e9:cf0c:762e%13(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.33(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, January 20, 2011 11:55:21 AM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, April 29, 2011 11:55:21 AM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 318777113
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-14-C9-20-6D-84-2B-2B-90-EF-F8

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter isatap.att.net:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : att.net
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:1467:174:3f57:fdde(Prefe
rred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::1467:174:3f57:fdde%12(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,833
With the machine being in a workgroup I would expect to at least see the name of the workgroup from the nbtstat -n output. Don't know why we don't get that, but it's probably another symptom of what you are (not) seeing.

Is there any non-Windows firewall or security suite on the machine? They can do mysterious mischief!

Make sure the following services are Started (Control Panel - Administrative Tools - Services).

Computer Browser
DHCP Client
DNS Client
Network Location Awareness
Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
Server
TCP/IP NetBIOS Helper
Workstation
 

treybert

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 19, 2011
Messages
5
All of the services you listed are running. I also double checked their status through the task manager.

Sometime last night I even reinstalled windows 7 on top of the previous install so there is absolutely nothing else running. I've also tried turning off windows firewall as well with no results.
 

treybert

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 19, 2011
Messages
5
Well I have some good news and some bad news, mostly because I'm not sure which it is.

From the previous scanlan, I saw that my nas was acting as the master. So i put the nas, the problem comp, and another comp on their own network (separate router, isolated) and the problem comp was able to populate the network window with what 'was' on the network (table had yet to update).

Then I returned the problem comp to the original network and the problem persists. I'm going to start systematically removing portions of my network to see if I can get anything.
 

treybert

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 19, 2011
Messages
5
I restarted my nas a few times and changed some settings in hopes to rewrite some corrupted file that 'might' have caused the problem. When I reconnected everything back to the network, everything seems to working fine. The nas is still the master, but everything is visible as it should be.

What was the cause? No idea.

For the record though, the nas is an LG N2B1DD2.

Thanks for the help
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,833
I'm suspecting some kind of hardware problem, but have no idea what kind or in what component. After Windows has been running for weeks or months there are tremendous opportunities for corruption, but neither a new system nor one with the operating system newly installed should be acting that way.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top