1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Compaq Presario 5304 Upgrades?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Doomsday123, Sep 15, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Doomsday123

    Doomsday123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    505
  2. Annorax

    Annorax

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Messages:
    277
    It doesn't really say anything I can find that would offer any information. The system seems very old, so if it is upgradeable, it won't be by much. Have you looked inside the case to see if you have a slot or socket processor?
     
  3. rmay635703

    rmay635703

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,278
    Yes your machine could be upgraded to a faster k6-2 processor or better yet a k6-3 but I can't say it would do much in terms of speed.
     
  4. Doomsday123

    Doomsday123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    505
    What would be the fastest CPU that I could upgrade to? Right now it is teling me that my computer has 60MB of ram so I am going to order 3 sticks of PC100 128MB SDRAM Dimm Slot sticks so that it will run on 384MB of ram. I am pretty sure this will increase the preformance by some. Thank you for all your info though.
     
  5. rmay635703

    rmay635703

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,278
    You are guaranteed it will take a k6-2 533mhz BUT...
    Check the motherboard and bios date, does the motherboard have voltage settings down to 2.0v or only to 2.2v?
    Do you have a 2.3v setting on the board?

    If you can find the original k6-3 (not the plus kind) 400mhz or faster it will blow any k6-2 out of the water.

    So depending on what you can find the fastest chips for your unit are the k6-2 550mhz (run at 500 or 533 if your board doesn't have 2.3v) or if you can find a k6-3 400 or 450mhz they are the fastest

    Cheers
     
  6. pronute

    pronute

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,956
    PC133 memory will work in that system it's hard to find PC100 any more. Upgrading the memory will give you a very small boost in performance, only because the hard drive will not have to be accessed as much for virtual memory, however it's not a noticeable boost and the gee wiz factor is short lived. the fastest CPU you can have is AMD K6-2 (or 3) 533, however AMD drop production on the K6 series in 1999 so working K6's are hard to find. and nobodys looking for them slugs anyway.
     
  7. plschwartz

    plschwartz

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2000
    Messages:
    11,451
  8. rmay635703

    rmay635703

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,278
    AMD made k6's of some sort until late 2001. The last k6-3+ units could overclock over 600mhz

    I still get k6-2's every once and a while, not bad units just not fast.

    Cheers
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/165116

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice