1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Compaq Presario cq50-215nr Help. Basic.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Tomcycle14, Sep 28, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Tomcycle14

    Tomcycle14 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    So, I'm in a pretty weird situation. I got this laptop, Compaq Presario cq50-215nr, and it won't turn on. I got it from a friend, they have no clue what's wrong. They have no cords, they have nothing, don't ask why. So, I have no background information on it, they only thing I have is the actual laptop. As I said earlier, it won't turn on and I don't know why. Is there anyway to check for simple things with spending little or no money. And I don't want to open the actual laptop. I am attempting to fix it without lots of money going into it. So pretty much is there a way to check if any hardware is fried, or just the battery is dead? I need help, any help helps. Reply with help or if you need more information. (Remember, I don't know any background information or have any cords/manuals.) Thanks.
     
  2. captainron276

    captainron276 Ron

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,754
  3. Tomcycle14

    Tomcycle14 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    37
  4. captainron276

    captainron276 Ron

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,754
    That's up to you. Your second choice looks better than the first choice which does not include the other part of the plug in.
     
  5. captainron276

    captainron276 Ron

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,754
  6. Tomcycle14

    Tomcycle14 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Alright, thanks. I guess I'll give it a shot if no one else has any ideas. Also, thanks for pointing out which one to get, I probably would have got the wrong one. Thanks.
     
  7. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Cody Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,012
    Tomcycle14,

    As captainron276 has suggested, you'll need a power cord before you anything else with the laptop.

    The battery could be perfectly fine, but we wouldn't know if it needs to be charged.
     
  8. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    30,995
    Does the laptop have the battery too?
     
  9. Tomcycle14

    Tomcycle14 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Ok, thanks everyone. Yes, Couriant, the laptop does have a 6-cell battery.
     
  10. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    30,995
    OK, then with the power cord you should be good to go... but the battery may not sustain a charge if it's not been used correctly. Batteries can cost about $30-50 depending where you go if needed.
     
  11. Tomcycle14

    Tomcycle14 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Couldn't I just keep it plugged it in at all times, I know it sorta defeats the purpose of a laptop, but that works, right?
    (Side Question: Does a laptop need a battery plugged in for it to run? Can you keep it plugged in the wall without a battery? Or does it need a battery no matter what? It has a battery, I was just wondering)
     
  12. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    30,995
    No. You can have either/or. If you are in a position to use the AC Power, then you should as battery life can be between 2-5 hours, depending on a few things. Only use battery if you are not able to use the power cord. The battery will charge and stay charged while AC is plugged in, so you can keep it in there. Just be aware the battery life may be lower depending on how it was treated. You will know straight away if the battery is bad (won't last 5 minutes if it's bad)
     
  13. Tomcycle14

    Tomcycle14 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    I am about to order this charger, and I want to make sure it will work/fit. The picture up top doesn't look right, but the picture in the description does. Again, I have a Compaq Presario cq50-215nr, and the post says just Compaq Presario cq50, no 215nr. Is 215nr just more specific, and I'm assuming won't affect the plug. And does this post have everything I need, from the wall to the "box", to the laptop? I'm just not that great with computers and I'd hate to buy it then have to buy more or get a whole new one.

    I'm buying this one:
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/COMPAQ-Pres...rs_Chargers&hash=item45efa2c820#ht_9855wt_932
     
  14. captainron276

    captainron276 Ron

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,754
    I would go to the ebay auction and ask the seller those questions you have, I'm sure he will answer you in a timely manner:)

    I have asked the seller if this is the correct unit. Will let you know what he says.
     
  15. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    30,995
    CQ50 is the series the -215NR is the specific model... compaq/hp has about 5 different models within a series, sometimes more so that one should have no problems.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1019678