1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Compaq Presario CQ57 will not connect to wifi

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Vemonstrocity, Dec 29, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Vemonstrocity

    Vemonstrocity Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    I have just gotten a brand new Windows 7 computer, which worked perfectly the first day. I turn it on a few days later and it won't detect <i>any</i> networks, not even my home network. Any ideas
     
  2. Sammy2111

    Sammy2111

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    146
    Do you have a spare computer at hand that can detect networks?
     
  3. Vemonstrocity

    Vemonstrocity Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    No, I do not. This is my first computer.
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,088
    First Name:
    Terry
    If it's a laptop is the wireless switched on?

    Your router probably has a LED showing the status of the wireless network. Does it appear to be working?
     
  5. Vemonstrocity

    Vemonstrocity Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    The router is working. I'm trying to turn on the wireless on the computer, but all it says is "WLAN: Disabled" or "WLAN: Off".
     
  6. Sammy2111

    Sammy2111

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    146
    check the sides of your computer for a wireless enable switch,check the front aswell,if there isnt one,there should be one somewhere on the function keys.see if you can find it
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,088
    First Name:
    Terry
    Or a button or pressure switch above the keyboard.
     
  8. Sammy2111

    Sammy2111

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    146
    If this still hasnt solved the issue you could try this

    1-Turn off your router,then unplug it,put in a ethernet cable in the socket on the router and connect it to the computer,giving it a direct connect,get on your computers manufacture site and update the wireless network adapter,it might be outdated,corrupt or most likely,just uninstalled.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1082943

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice