1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Compaq Presario CQ57- Windows can't connect to the hidden network

Discussion in 'Networking' started by twinkyahu, Jul 11, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. twinkyahu

    twinkyahu Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    When I try to connect to my wireless networks, My Compaq Presario CQ57 keeps saying "windows was unable to connect to (name of my internet)". When I run the troubleshoot to look for the problem it say problem detected windows can't connect to the hidden network. I've
    -updated all my drivers
    -installed Ralink RT 5390 802.11b wifi adapter
    -right clicked on properties and made wifi findable
    so on and so on. My Led is white showing that I have wifi enabled. I've turned off my router, unplugged it, reset it, so on and so on but the same thing occurs. I have a couple other laptops and tablets in the house and they connect to my wifi with no problem. It's showing that I have full reception but just won't connect. I even tried connecting to my portable hotspot and it does and says the same thing. I can connect my Ethernet cable in the socket of the computer and it works just fine, but I need it to connect to my wireless wifi as this is going to be my work laptop and used on the road.

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU B800 @ 1.50GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 42 Stepping 7
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 3947 Mb
    Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics, 1845 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 286174 MB, Free - 236037 MB; D: Total - 14805 MB, Free - 14715 MB; E: Total - 4055 MB, Free - 4055 MB;
    Motherboard: Hewlett-Packard, 3672
    Antivirus: Microsoft Security Essentials, Updated and Enabled
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,616
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can we see an ipconfig /all - see below

    also please do a
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8

    For Windows Vista/Windows 7/8
    Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on the screen ):​

    For Windows 8
    To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.​

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands:

    Note: Type only the text in bold and red for the following commands.

    • Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog and press enter
    • Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log and press enter
    • Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log and press enter
    ReStart (reboot) the machine.

    If you receive the message
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
    Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):
    Please note and post back - if you receive the following message :-
    Access is Denied
    This often occurs with windows 8

    please post back the results in a reply here - its important we know that these commands have worked correctly and not produced any errors
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Details also here
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357
    also the link has a Microsoft Fix it , which will do the above for you


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all

    We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply
    Note: you will see entries named Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface: we dont need to see that information - JUST the infomation above those entries

    For Windows 8
    To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop.
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/open-an-elevated-command-prompt-in-windows-8/
    Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.​

    For windows version, XP, Vista, W7
    Hold the Windows key and press R

    Now type CMD

    Now press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):​

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will now be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

    Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
    The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. twinkyahu

    twinkyahu Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Windows\system32>netsh winsock reset catalog

    Sucessfully reset the Winsock Catalog.
    You must restart the computer in order to complete the reset.


    C:\Windows\system32>netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log
    Reseting Interface, OK!
    Restart the computer to complete this action.


    C:\Windows\system32>netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log
    Reseting Interface, OK!
    Restart the computer to complete this action.

    I restarted it and it still did it.

    Then I ran the IP thing:


    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Anna-HP
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Ralink RT5390 802.11b/g/n WiFi Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : E0-06-E6-04-40-91
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : A0-B3-CC-C4-83-B1
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::8807:24a9:f625:ab82%11(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.2(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, July 11, 2014 4:52:36 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, July 12, 2014 4:52:34 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 346076108
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-17-47-9B-77-E0-06-E6-04-40-91
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{8070629C-F05B-41A9-A10E-513BE1091996}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:9d38:90d7:18c7:652:3f57:fefd(Preferred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::18c7:652:3f57:fefd%12(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{C9A9A215-F8FD-4069-8ECB-55C909E8F2BA}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{B3488372-95BE-459F-BD2A-3F0415C22187}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #4
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     
  5. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,616
    First Name:
    Wayne
    - try safemode with networking (sometimes wireless does not work with safemode )

    For other windows version, XP,Vista, W7 as the PC starts keep tapping F8 - a menu appears - choose
    safemode with networking - see if that works

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  6. twinkyahu

    twinkyahu Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Just tried it. Still does it.
     
  7. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,616
    First Name:
    Wayne
    What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, kaspersky or Mcafee or any free security suites like zonealarm, AVG , Webroot etc
     
  8. twinkyahu

    twinkyahu Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    When I got it it had norton and I uninstalled it. I haven't put any new on yet as I've just been trying to fix it. But on my others I use Microsoft Essentials, Malwarebytes, and superantispyware all together
     
  9. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,616
    First Name:
    Wayne
    did you use norton removal tool - if not use it now - see how below

    also post a screen shot of xirrus


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and install the program.
    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

    If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply

    http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
    Download this file "DOWNLOAD WI-FI INSPECTOR Vx.xx "
    ( the site now appears to require a business email, and does not allow webbased emails like gmail,hotmail or yahoo etc )
    There is also a xirrus gadget, But that does not have all the fuctionality "DOWNLOAD GADGET Vx.xx

    Use the links below

    http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html
    http://www.softpedia.com/progDownload/Xirrus-Wi-Fi-Monitor-Download-99109.html

    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You will need to have NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.
    On windows 8 - (i do not have windows 8) but, it would appear that, When you first try to run, you may get a message that .net framework is needed, and included in that message is a link to download/install.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here
    http://www.xirrus.com/cdn/pdf/xirruswifiinspectorguide1-2-0

    post a screen shot of the program running.
    if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information.

    post which SSID name is yours, its located in the list, under network "Adapter Name" (1st column)


    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better. "A desirable signal level for a robust Wi-Fi connection will be green".
    note: the signal level is a negative number, so for example -88 is worst and -40 is better

    To post a screen shot of the active window.

    Windows XP
    Hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.

    Vista or Windows 7
    you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/how-to-use-the-windows-snipping-tool/

    Windows 8
    you can use the snipping tool > Open Snipping Tool (From the Windows 8 Start Screen, type "snip" and press enter.
    >Press the Esc. key.
    >go back to your Windows 8 start screen - Swipe from left or press Window Button
    >Press Ctrl+PrntScr button to use Snipping Tool
    see here
    http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/opinion/windows/3415854/how-take-screenshot-in-windows-8/
    http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/how-to/windows/3405830/how-take-screenshot-in-windows-8/


    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

    --------------------------------------------------------------

    Norton Removal Tool
    I would recommend that you restart the PC and run the removal tool for a second time or even a third time - I have found instances where the removal tool needs to be run twice to fully remove all traces of norton and symantec from the PC

    https://www-secure.symantec.com/nor...t=Norton Core&pvid=f-core-cur&version=current
    https://support.norton.com/sp/en/us...&ispid=&pvid=f-core-cur&q=Norton+Removal+Tool

    All Versions - The Norton Removal Tool uninstalls all Norton 2010/2009/2008/2007/2006/2005/2004/2003 products, Norton 360 and Norton SystemWorks 12.0 from your computer.
    http://majorgeeks.com/Norton_Removal_Tool_SymNRT_d4749.html
     
  10. twinkyahu

    twinkyahu Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    I ran the Norton removal tool. Also her is the snapshotof Xirrus.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,616
    First Name:
    Wayne
    that is a very weak signal - can you get about 4-6ft away from the wireless router and post again please
     
  12. twinkyahu

    twinkyahu Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Here you go. I did this from my other laptop.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,616
    First Name:
    Wayne
    what location is that in ?
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1129496

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice