1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

compaq presario new hard drive

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by mfpchelp, Jan 13, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mfpchelp

    mfpchelp Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3
    My compaq presario 4540 hd crashed. Installed new drive but unable to get windows 98 installed. Do not have original compaq restore disks. Any other ideas ??

    Thanks
     
  2. gotmikey

    gotmikey

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    48
    Did u just put in the new HDD right out of the box and try to install a os to it w/o formatting? Since you do have the original restore cd's.. What happens when you boot from them?
     
  3. gotmikey

    gotmikey

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    48
    sorry.. i read your post wrong.. you don't have them.. How are you trying to load the OS?


    mikey
     
  4. mfpchelp

    mfpchelp Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3
    yes formatted new hd and trying to install win 98 with a windows 98 setup cd full install not upgrade.
     
  5. Taggman

    Taggman

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    The Compaq that you have, does it have a Softpaq or a CMOS(does it tell you to press F2 or F10)? Have you set everything up in the Bios? Finally, What is the error message that you get that won't let you load win98?
     
  6. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    With a new hard drive, you will not be able to access the bios setup by using the F 10 key, until you rebuild the Compaq partion....What happened to the original restore disks?
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/113023

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice