compaq presario quickrestore cd

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

mave

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 6, 2002
Messages
83
Ive been wanting to get my old computer running for awhile. i took it in, to get checked, and the guy said that the hard drive was blown. He told me that i had to get the full quick restore disc set if i wanted to put a new hard drive in to get it working(he said it consisted of 2 discs, he explainted to me why but it went in 1 ear and out the other). Well i called and told them that i need a full quick restore disc set for the model number 5170. I got it in the mail today but there is only 1 disc :confused:. Is there really 2 quick restore discs or did that guy have no idea what he was talking about? Also can i just use the 1 quick restor disc to put in a new hard drive and get my comp running again?
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2003
Messages
12,661
First Name
Jay
I would say yes you can use it. With a Compaq of that age They only came with one disc. I had a 5070 which is the time frame as the 5170 and it came from the factory with just the one disc. Worked every time. Later model systems did still come with one disc and you had to order the 2 disc set to do a total restore. Actually I am kind of amazed thta they would have a disc that old to send you.
 

mave

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 6, 2002
Messages
83
thnx alot mabey that guy didn't know what he was talking about after all.
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2003
Messages
12,661
First Name
Jay
He just may not have had much experience with Compaqs of that age is all. Like I said later models did have the 2 disc full restore.
 

Fastlane247

It's My Birthday!
Joined
Apr 6, 2004
Messages
236
I actually work for compaq tech support.... usually you get 4 qr cds... the new units seem to come with a os cd and driver recovery cd now ... some of the older notebooks had 1 qr cd but that is because all the files are on a second hidden partition on your harddrive so if you ever install a different os the qr cd will never work and you would have to pay for new qr cds
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2003
Messages
12,661
First Name
Jay
Older presario desk tops Came with only one CD. I am talking of the age of the 5070 and thd 5170 age. When you ordered a replacement it came with one cd. I agree that the newer models did come with 2 3 and 4 cds. One for the OS, one for the drivers and one or more for the bundled software. I got a New Dell dimension a year ago tha came with a bundle of 9 CD's for everything they came with. As systems grow in complexity they also grow in required software.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top