Compaq Presario R3000 Does Not Connect to the Internet

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

dragster1981

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 4, 2017
Messages
26
I have a compaq presario R3000 laptop with windows xp home edition that does not connect to the internet, it only goes from favorites to the BING and MSN webpages, but almost nothing can be done from there. I have http://www.google.com typed in the internet options window for my homepage but I get at the very top: "http://www.google.com - Cannot find server - Microsoft Internet Explorer" in my initial screen and the error message "The page cannot be displayed" as the title of the page.
I have an ACER and an HP laptops that work fine and have no problem at all connecting but I know it is not easy to get this PRESARIO laptop connected. If there is someone knowledgeable about windows xp internet connection that I can be referred to for eventually get this laptop connected, I appreciate.
 
Joined
May 20, 2019
Messages
8
Get a WiFi driver. If you already have it plugged in, find the installation file on a different device. I have a Windows XP computer myself and that's how I got it connected.
 

flavallee

Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
81,327
First Name
Frank
The only known up-to-date browser that still works in Windows XP SP3 32-bit is Maxthon Cloud Browser 5.2.7.2000
I use it in my Windows XP SP3 32-bit test computer, and I haven't found a website yet that it won't load.

If you're using the Internet Explorer or Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome browsers, they've become too outdated and no longer support most websites.

----------------------------------------------------------------
 

flavallee

Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
81,327
First Name
Frank
:D

---------------------------------------------------------------
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2014
Messages
2,638
I have to run internet explorer 11 at work and it seams like a lot of websites are getting incompatible even with IE11, they want you to use chrome. We can use Chrome as a secondary browser but I don't like it. Sometimes I have to use chrome to print a page from a website because it won't work in IE11.
 

dragster1981

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 4, 2017
Messages
26
Thank you very much for your first replies and for sayig in one of them that the only known up-to-date browser that still works in windows XP SP3 32-bit is Maxthon Cloud Browser 5.2.7.2000, but I can not use any browser in my laptop with windows XP to install it because my laptop is not connected to the internet and also I think I have SP2. To get my laptop connected to the internet is not easy and I do not know how. If without being connected to the internet there is a way to install Maxthon Cloud Browser 5.2.7.2000 to my laptop with windows XP SP2 32-bit, I appreciate any pertinent information.
 

flavallee

Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
81,327
First Name
Frank
If your copy of Windows XP does not have Service Pack 3 installed, it's unlikely you will be able to get any software apps or hardware drivers to install in your laptop.

----------------------------------------------------------------
 

dragster1981

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 4, 2017
Messages
26
Thanks for the last replies. I was told it is unlikely that I will be able to get any software apps or hardware drivers to install in my laptop if its copy of windows XP does not have service pack3. I checked the OS installation disk and it shows SP2. So now my question now is: will I be able to install Maxthon Cloud Browser 5.2.7.2000 and more software apps and hardware drivers if I change SP2 to SP3?
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2016
Messages
1,201
First Name
Morten
So now my question now is: will I be able to install Maxthon Cloud Browser 5.2.7.2000 and more software apps and hardware drivers if I change SP2 to SP3?
Nobody can guarantee that it will work for you. There's too many variables. But, you certainly have a better chance than if you stay with SP2.
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2016
Messages
190
First Name
Mike
AFAIK, there are versions of NewMoon (M$ version of PaleMoon), MyPal and Serpent (aka Basilisk), all Mozilla 'forks' that will run on XP and are still supported.

@ Frank:-

Isn't Maxthon owned by the Chinese? Not sure as I'd really feel safe using that, even though I'm a Chrome/Chromium user of long-standing.....dating all the way back to September 2008, in fact.

Links for the above:-

MyPal:- https://www.softpedia.com/get/Internet/Browsers/Mypal.shtml

NewMoon & Serpent:- http://rtfreesoft.blogspot.com/search/label/browser

These are all basically forked from Palemoon, and the last 2 builds are by a guy who goes by the handle of 'Roytam'. Apparently, these are well-regarded by the 'hold-outs' in the XP community, and are regularly maintained, being re-built to use relevant up-to-date bits of modern Mozilla code wherever possible.

Hope those help a wee bit.

Do, for Chrissakes, upgrade to SP3 as soon as you possibly can. You really need to make that your first priority, since it will enable an awful lot of other stuff, too. If Frank's link from MajorGeeks doesn't work out, I have a copy of SP3 I can let you have. Unlike the 'official' version of SP3, both Frank's and mine are simply regular downloads which do NOT need to be downloaded via Internet Exploder. You can access these via any browser on any machine, on ANY platform.


Mike. ;)
 
Last edited:

flavallee

Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
81,327
First Name
Frank
I have Windows XP Pro SP3 32-bit which is integrated with updates to its April 2019 end-of-life, so it saves me a LOT of time and frustration when I install and use it for testing purposes.

The download links at MajorGeeks for SP3 still work.

Some Mozilla-coded browsers will install and run in Windows XP, but they're outdated versions which haven't been updated since last year.
Maxthon is the only browser that I'm aware of that's still supported and kept up-to-date.
Version 5.3.x is supposedly due to be released soon.

-----------------------------------------------------------------
 

Couriant

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
35,676
First Name
James
Well Cannot Find Server is usually a DNS issue... but then I haven't worked on an XP machine in current times so..

Can you do this: go to command prompt and type ping google.com to make sure you get a reply.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top