1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Compaq Registration Problem

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by BradN10, Sep 20, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. BradN10

    BradN10 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    135
    I just used the recover disks. As soon as the computer boots up and the compaq registration starts, it freezes up when it goes to the internet connection part. And will not continue to finish the computer registration. We have had to reboot the computer a few times already, if that matters. Is there a way to bypass the registration because we have already registered the computer. We are currently using windows 98se.
     
  2. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Retired Moderator and Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
    With the takeover of HP, anything could happens. It is possible that the website no longer exists. If you allow the computer to timeout for two minutes, would it bypass the process? Press Ctrl+Q during the process, no guarantees.

    As part of the recovery, Compaq includes this part in the process, which in turn will create a registry entry to guarantee the validation of their licence. I wish I could determine where in the installation process is the command that calls for this process.

    If possible, start the computer with a Windows 98 startup diskette and select Command prompt without cd support. At the A:\ prompt type the following:

    Edit c:\autoexec.bat

    Press Enter. To save this file in your startup diskette, press Alt+F, then with the arrows select Save as... You cant save it as Autoexec.bat in your diskette because it will overwrite the file in your startup diskette. Save the file as A:\Sample.txt.

    In another computer open the file Sample.txt and post the contents of this file in a reply here (Select All, Copy and Paste). I just want to see if there is a command in this file that is causing this issue. Is the only thing we can do. Should you need assistance from HP (Compaq is part of HP now), here is the link:

    http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/siteHome?lc=en&cc=us&dlc=en
     
  3. BradN10

    BradN10 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    135
    bump

    yes i waited for it to go away. i dont have a windows diskette just recovery cd. thanks.
     
  4. westsidedoc

    westsidedoc

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    BradN10

    Check you msconfig file.

    Go to Start, Run, and type msconfig, click OK, click on the Startup tab, uncheck any lines that have to do with Compaq except the lines that contain Easy Access Button Support, click Apply and reboot.

    Unchecking the lines containing "Easy Access Button Support" may cause you problems with your sound and the use of the internet keys on the top of your keyboard.

    Make a note of what you uncheck so you can put them back if you need to.

    Doc
     
  5. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Retired Moderator and Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
    You can download a Windows 98 OEM version startup diskette at www.bootdisk.com. I'll like to see the Sample.txt as I mentioned above.

    Also try to load Windows in Safe Mode. If the issue does not occur in Safe mode we may be able to locate the setting that is causing the issue. To start the computer in Safe Mode tap on F8 during startup until you get to the Startup Menu. Ignore any error messages or sound it may produce. At the Menu select Safe Mode. Let me know how it goes!
     
  6. BradN10

    BradN10 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    135
    i cant get to msconfig, once the desktop shows, a few seconds later the registration thing pops up.
     
  7. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Retired Moderator and Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
    Have you tried Safe Mode? The Statup diskette to obtain a copy of your Autoexec.bat as Sample.txt?
     
  8. BradN10

    BradN10 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    135
    how do you access safe mode
     
  9. westsidedoc

    westsidedoc

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Hi Brad

    I don't know how experienced you are with computers. I must warn you that the msconfig area must be taken seriously. The last thing I want is for you to end up with more problems than you already have. Please be careful, if you're unsure about anything, ask before making a change.

    That said, as your computer is booting up repeatedly press the F8 key. You will get a window asking how you would like to boot your system. The 3rd line should say safe mode, press the #3 key and press enter. Your system will reboot, you may see the same options again, wait, the reboot will continue on it's own. Windows will open and you should have a box that say's Windows is running in safe mode ect. ect. Click OK, you are now in Safe Mode.

    You can now go to Start, Run, and type msconfig, click OK, click on the Startup tab, and you should see a window similar to the attachment below.

    On the left side of the window you will see boxes, any box that has a check mark in it tells the computer to run that file or program on startup. To the right will be a brief description of the file or program, followed by the location of the file or program that will be run at startup. example: C:\windows\scanreg.exe/autorun

    You want to look for any lines that have compaq in them and remove the check mark's from the box's, except for the lines containing Easy Access Button Support. Then click Apply, OK to reboot the system, and see if that works.

    Let me know if this helps.

    Doc
     

    Attached Files:

  10. westsidedoc

    westsidedoc

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Hi Brad,

    I made some change's to my profile, this post is to see if they took or not. ;)

    Doc
     
  11. BradN10

    BradN10 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    135
    well i unclicked everything to do with compaq and things that arent important but still no change. i went through to safe mode to edit it. then i restarted it and now the registration wont even show up just the desktop turning to a white screen. i got an illegal operation thing that said "msoobe" so i clicked close then it turned the white screen off, but it only happened once. so i tried to delete msoobe but when i restart it, when i get to the desktop it just shuts down. but i know it has to do with that program but i cant delete it. thanks.
     
  12. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Retired Moderator and Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
    msoobe.exe is the Windows XP Product Activation process that manages the online registration of license key. This program is important for the stable and secure running of your computer and should not be terminated.

    If you are using the Recovery CD, I suggest you order the Quick Restore CDs designed for your computer. This is due to the differences in the recovery process. The Recovery CD depends upon a partition in your hard drive labeled System_SAV. This partition contains the factory image of your computer. If for any reason this partition gets corrupted, the recovery CD wont do its job. The Quick Restore CDs, in contrast, do not depend upon the System_Sav partition. All processes are included within it. Compaq has been sued for this kind of issues.

    http://www.compaqqrsettlement.com/email.htm

    You can order the Quick Restore CD from Compaq throughout these steps:

    You can buy the new QuickRestore CDs by visiting the following website:

    https://www.orderz.com/qrcons/default1.asp

    Also, an order can be placed for a new QuickRestore CD by calling Compaq
    Order Center at 1-800-841-2761 in the U.S. (1-800-952-7689 in Canada),
    and selecting Option 1.

    The cost is about $10.00, but will benefit you since you will not depend upon the System_Sav partition to perform a full recovery.
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/276299

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice