Compatibility Issue with a CNR Modem?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

PCMan78

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 1, 2003
Messages
107
I recently purchased 100 CNR Modems and they do not fit into my CNR Slot on my Biostar Motherboards. The motherboard manuel says (Type A only) for the CNR Slot. Maybe my CNR modems are a different Type. Anybody ever heard of this?

By the way, anybody ever run across some good sites to by CNR modems at bulk price? I will probably need to buy some more :)
 

PCMan78

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 1, 2003
Messages
107
Or maybe even a good cheap place to buy PCI modems in bulk or single (preferbly bulk if it is cheaper). Thanks!
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2003
Messages
423
Not familiar. Are you sure that it is a CNR and not an AMR slot on the board? That's all I know about those modems other than that they are usually inexpensive and so-so in performance. As far as a place to look, try www.pricewatch.com .
 

PCMan78

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 1, 2003
Messages
107
They are CNR modems, but they do not fit all the way to the outer slot (like they are too short). They could be AMR. I will check, b/c that may be possible. Anybody have anyclose up pics of some CNR and AMR modems? Thanks!

Matt
 

PCMan78

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 1, 2003
Messages
107
Actually, I just looked up the model #: WS-5614DME1(G) and came up with this site:

http://web.ask.com/redir?bpg=http://web.ask.com/web?q=ws-5614dme1(g)%26o%3d0%26page%3d1&q=ws-5614dme1(g)&u=http%3a%2f%2ftm.wc.ask.com%2fr%3ft%3dan%26s%3da%26uid%3d07220352B6FDCD5F3%26sid%3d1F6FFABA25D61F5F3%26qid%3d590A0A5F3BB0184E89AB6199D6603FEE%26io%3d0%26sv%3dza5cb0dd9%26ask%3dws-5614dme1(g)%26uip%3d4412612c%26en%3dte%26eo%3d-100%26pt%3dCIS%2bTechnology%2bInc%26ac%3d24%26qs%3d1%26pg%3d1%26u%3dhttp%3a%2f%2fwww.cis.com.tw%2fproucts%2fmanual.htm&s=a&bu=http%3a%2f%2fwww.cis.com.tw%2fproucts%2fmanual.htm

Sorry so long. Anyway, on the site, it says that my modem is a MR. I guess that mean AMR. What do you think?
 

PCMan78

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 1, 2003
Messages
107
"Soft V.90 MR (Modem Riser - Embedded)"

So what could I put this card into. It looks about the size of an AMR. Do you think that this could possibly work inside of an AMR slot? Thanks!
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2002
Messages
1,278
CNR and AMR are TOTALLY different.

CNR is the wierd guys that fit on AT motherboards that have a series of wires coming up that it plugs into. (looks like an IDE port near the rear edge of the board)

AMR is the mini-slot type that plug into a brown type slot that looks like a mini-pci slot.
like this
<p>

There is more than one type of AMR and some new standards as well, my guess is you got the wrong variety of AMR for your AMR slot.

PS if you really do need CNR I have at least 10 of the things around here somewhere. (I would send a pic if I had one sitting here)

Cheers
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top