Compatibility New comp help

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.
Joined
Jul 7, 2006
Messages
1,085
http://developer.intel.com/design/motherbd/bx2/bx2_mem.htm

Go here and look at the supported RAM list. I don't think that DDR2 675 will work.

You don't have an optical drive: I'd suggest a Lite On Retail DVD burner.

Also, for hard drives, the Seagate 7200.10 SATA 3.0's are the hot deal right now. 5 year warranty.

Don't forget an operating system. You might see if that case is available without a power supply--and stick with the Antec you have listed seperately.

Looking good so far!
 

SOFwhitewolf

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 7, 2006
Messages
238
Ya i wasnt sure about ram, because the 667 and 675 are both rated at 5400, but anyway i can change it to the 800, and i already have a dvd and cd burner that are both light on, and also have a OS too
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2006
Messages
1,085
I used Patriot RAM with both of my Intel boards and it seemed to like that stuff well enough. Corsair and OCZ are great brands too.

Enjoy the build!
 

SOFwhitewolf

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 7, 2006
Messages
238
Ok, so 3 questions. You always want a lower case latency? and also you can go lower on voltage but not higher correct? Also you want lower or higher timings?
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2006
Messages
1,085
Ignore latencies as they pertain to performance. It has little to do with it.

Newer boards, especially GOOD boards like ASUS and Intel are picky about RAM. So you probably don't have much in the way of choice in the matter.

In my Intel D946GZIS with a Core 2 Duo, I run Patriot DDR2 667 which has timings of 5-5-5-12. You will likely have to use the same thing.

Another good resource is www.crucial.com

Plug the board in the configurator and see what it has to say about all that stuff.
 

SOFwhitewolf

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 7, 2006
Messages
238
Your board's max is 667, while mine is 800, and i checked corsair and pulged teh board in and it shows the ram i have as compatible, but still what is better, higher or lower timings, and higher or lower case latency?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top