Compatibility

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

BumontheRun

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 9, 2002
Messages
180
Ok...i have been having lots of problems lately...and its not related to software because my hard drive worked fine on another computer. I want to know if this list of what i have is compatible with each other and with xp.

Motherboard:
ASUS A7V8X-X AMD Athlon/Athlon XP/Duron Socket A (tech: http://secure.newegg.com/app/specification.asp?item=13-131-451 )

Processor:
AMD ATHLON XP 2500+ "Barton" 333 FSB PROCESSOR
Specifications:
CPU: 1.83 GHz
Type: XP 2500 Barton Core
Cache: 512K L2, 128K L1, Total 640KB
BUS: 333MHz
Socket A

RAM
CRUCIAL MICRON 512MB 64x64 PC 2700 DDR RAM
-184-Pin, CL=2.5-Unbuffered Non Parity 2.5V, CT6464Z335 Requires DDR supported Motherboard

Hard drive
80GB Western Digital - 8mb cache... -I got this from circuit city...

Video Card
Geforce 4 MX 420 - PCI - by evg(or somethin) - its a year old but worked fine on this comp

DVD Drive
DVD|AOPEN16X DVD-1648/BKH BLACK RET

Case
ANTEC SOHO File ServerTower ATX Case Model SX1040BII with 400 Watt Smart Power, Power Supply (tech: http://secure.newegg.com/app/specification.asp?item=11-129-120 )

I am getting the mb replaced with the same one. Are any of these incompatible, cause they look fine to me. And they all should work with xp right?

If you want to see the problems i have had, just search for some of my posts.

Thanks
 

BumontheRun

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 9, 2002
Messages
180
On other thing...i noticed when i was disconnecting the motherboard(i haven't shipped it yet) that the dvd drive was using the ultra dma ribbon cable(the one with the blue end). I must have hooked up the wrong one by accident. Would this cause my problems? Such as windows registry thing gettin corrupt, sound not working, always getting the logo testing thing when i try to install something...
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
40,843
I have the same mb running crucial ram and 2 WD 80 hd on a highpoint controller card in raid 0. No problems whatsoever. It is so stable I cannot make it crash no matter what I do.
 

Triple6

Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,930
First Name
Rob
No the ribbon wouldn't cause this.

XP does not like to be moved from one hardware config to another. Another thing it could be bad ram or just about any other piece of hardware. Try swapping RAM with someone. Try removing some hardware and see if it has any effect. It could also be a corrupt/incorrect driver.
 

BumontheRun

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 9, 2002
Messages
180
i dont have a controller card...and i have reformated and used a new hd from scratch on it... i'll try again when i get my mb back...should be sometime next week...i think..though i haven't sent it yet lol...i am too lazy to put it back, and i need to get new thermal pads for the cpu if i do...
 

BumontheRun

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 9, 2002
Messages
180
also i forgot to mention...i got that windows/system32/config/system corrupt error...tried formating after with the windows cd and it said the drive was damaged or corrupt... i scanned for errors using the WD diagnostic tools and it found none...so whats wrong there?

the cpu is 'barton' does that make a difference if my mb is not a 'barton'?
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
40,843
Your mb supports the Barton core. There may be a problem with your board, however most errors during install are ram related. There is a new bios for your mb ver 1006, have you flashed to that bios?
 

BumontheRun

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 9, 2002
Messages
180
no but i'll try it when i get my mb back...if its mb related it should be fixed when i replace... i'll try a friends ram tho if i still have problems
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top