1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Completely at a loss... wireless issue.

Discussion in 'Networking' started by kwejibo, Sep 23, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. kwejibo

    kwejibo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    I recently built a new desktop for my girlfriend, for work, and everything seems to be running great... except that I cannot for the life of me get the wireless connect to access the internet. I consider myself fairly tech savy and this one has me at a complete loss.

    I've tried 3-4 different wifi adapters, both USB and PCI with no luck. The issue is consistent between them all: I can connect to the Wireless router and even obtain an IP address but I am never able to access the Internet or for that matter even ping the router itself (how can i get an IP from the router and yet not be able to ping it??). This makes me confident that it is not a hardware issue and currently I am using a Linksys Rangeplus Wireless PCI Adapter (WMP110).

    Neither my laptop nor my roommate's laptops have issues connecting to our unsecured wireless router.

    I've attempted to connect on fresh XP Corp. installs both with and without service packs 1 and 2. I am currently running XP SP 2 with nothing installed other than misc. drivers (chipset/video/audio/wireless/etc.).

    I've been researching this online for a couple of days now and have not had any luck at all finding a solution. It seems that this problem happens to other people, but I have yet to find a single solution anywhere.

    I'd appreciate any help, and please let me know if you need more info from me.
     
  2. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Hi and welcome. Windows Firewall ;)
     
  3. kwejibo

    kwejibo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks for the reply, but windows firewall is disabled and the router's firewall is disabled. There's no mac filtering or anything fancy enabled on the router either. I probably should have mentioned all that :p
     
  4. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Can you post the ipconfig /all info for the problem computer and a working computer?
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,257
    First Name:
    Terry
    What other firewall (security suite) on the PC?

    Does an ethernet connection work?
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/752752

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice