1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Compurer not recognizing new RAM

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by fog28, Dec 1, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. fog28

    fog28 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Hi,

    I've got a RAM problems... Here is the situation:

    Initial:
    Sony VAIO FW140D with 3gb of ram (1gb and 2gb) with Vista installed
    Ugraded OS to Windows 7 64bit Pro
    Bought a kit of 2x4gb of ram (PC2-6400 from Patriot)

    Tried both together : does not work (freeze at the windows animation when booting
    Tried one of them : works fine in both slots
    Tried the other one : works fine in both slots
    Tried 1x4gb with old 1x2gb : works fine and shows 6gb of ram once logged on

    My bios is locked and I do not know how to access it.

    Any suggestions how I can make it work with both 4gb of matching RAM?

    Thanks a lot for your help
     
  2. fog28

    fog28 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    One more thing...

    I have tried to boot in safe mode and even than, the computer is freezing at the

    classpnp.sys

    file.....

    Suggestions anyone?

    Thanks!
     
  3. 2twenty2

    2twenty2

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    30,297
    The Sony VAIO FW140D laptop supports a maximum total of 4gb Ram, not 8gb. That is why your laptop won't work.
     
  4. fog28

    fog28 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    I'm currently at 6gb with a 4gb and a 2gb.... would that be possible?

    I have read the maximum is 4gb with a 32bit system but 8gb with a 64 bit system...?
     
  5. fog28

    fog28 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Professional, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU P8400 @ 2.26GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 23 Stepping 6
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 6142 Mb
    Graphics Card: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 3400 Series, 256 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 228774 MB, Free - 46311 MB;
    Motherboard: Sony Corporation, VAIO
    Antivirus: ESET Smart Security 5.0, Updated and Enabled
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1029288

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice