1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Computer boots, loads, but then freezes

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by leighangela, Jan 5, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. leighangela

    leighangela Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Dell Vostro 200, Windows XP.

    No problem until today, when it started and loaded, I can see everything, but I tried to load Firefox and it wouldn't load. Then I tried doing ANYTHING and it's frozen.

    I held the power button to reboot, same thing. I rebooted that way again and tried to press F8 to go into safe mode. It won't go. I can choose F2 or F12, though. I cannot use msconfig to get info safe mode either because it's all frozen.

    I did a repair of Windows XP. No change.

    I opened the back, dusted with air, took out memory sticks and replaced them in the same spots. No change.

    So to recap, it boots and loads. I can use the mouse to select things for about 1 minute, but by the time anything has a chance to load everything freezes up. It doesn't connect to the network so I can't get in to retrieve any files. Please help. If it's dead I just want to get my files :-(
     
  2. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,773
    Did you make any changes prior to this happening - software, Hardware installations?
    Do you have time to do a system restore before it freezes?

    See if it will stay working with just one Ram stick installed.
    Do you have the original install Cd?
     
  3. leighangela

    leighangela Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    I made no changes. No, I have no time to do anything before it freezes up. The original CD is what I used to do the repair.

    I am now running puppy linux to try to save all my files :-( I'll try the one memory stick idea.
     
  4. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,773
    If you did a repair install - sounds like a hardware problem.

    Remove Ram - Video cards etc and then Reseat in the slots.
    But first - clean the copper connections of the Ram - Video cards with a pencil eraser.
    If more than one Ram stick - use just one at a time, as a test.

    This link may help.
    How to use Linux live Cd to backup files from a dead Pc
     
  5. leighangela

    leighangela Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Is all I have to remove is the ram? Are video cards separate? I have no idea if I have a video card in there (I certainly never installed one).
     
  6. leighangela

    leighangela Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Update, removed one ram. Tested twice using each one. No go.

    Also reset the cmos jumper. Rebooted. Now I get an error in black screen:

    "Diskette drive 0 seek failure. F1 to continue, F2 to set up."

    I chose F1. Desktop loads, but now none of the icons on the right bottom load to the left of the time (which is now set to midnight obviously).

    When I set the mouse to the lower blue bar it becomes an hour glass. I still cannot click anything or use F8 to get into safe mode.

    I backed up my user settings and the Windows registry to an external hard drive (after a run out to Staples to purchase one!) using puppy linux.

    Because of the F1 to continue or F2 to set up, I can't get into F12 now to set the boot order. Can I do it in F2 and if so, how?
     
  7. leighangela

    leighangela Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    I ran a test using the utilities disk. All tests passed. Still having the issue :-(
     
  8. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,773
    It is probably looking for the floppy disk drive.
    In the Bios - set floppy disk drive to - none - disable or something similar.

    BIOS.
    http://michaelstevenstech.com/bios_manufacturer.htm

    Make no other changes while in the Bios - or you may add to your problems.

    Try at the desktop - ctrl-alt-delete.
    Open Task Manager.
    Processes tab
    Click on
    File
    Then select
    New Task >Run
    Type
    explorer.exe

    Let us have the make and model number of your Pc.
     
  9. leighangela

    leighangela Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    I think I said the make and model already. Dell Vostro 200.

    It isn't looking for a floppy drive, tried that already.

    I doubt I will have time to get to type explorer.exe before it freezes up but I'll try. What will that do?
     
  10. leighangela

    leighangela Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Was unable to do the explorer.exe thing. It locks up.
     
  11. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,773
    A Repair Install does not always work correctly and some file may not be repaired and that may be the problem that you are having.
    You will have to find a way to boot from the Cd.

    Boot from the Xp install Cd...when prompted press [R]
    Choose Windows installation [typically by pressing [1]
    When prompted for password.
    Press Enter.
    Type chkdsk /r
    [note space after chkdsk]

    When fininshed.
    Type Exit
    And press Enter.

    Or if it boots from the Cd - do a clean install of xp.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Computer boots loads
  1. Buffalo19
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    502
  2. Marcella253
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    567
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1034748

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice