1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Computer can only start in safe mode...

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Matts3D, Apr 29, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Matts3D

    Matts3D Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    230
    Hi all,
    Fore some reason, my computer cannot start.
    I can see the progress bar, but after that, my computer restarts.
    This is a problem that I had before. It will restart over and over again.
    Once, for no reasons, it manage to finally start.
    Yesterday, I did a normal restart, but here goes the same old problem... it cant start.
    I can start it in safe mode and thats it...
    Anybody have an answer for me?
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,986
    First Name:
    Wayne
    go though alll the startup programs and remove all you dont need
    you could just deselct them all and add in one at a time until you ge tthe problem again

    have you updated any software recently - put a firewall or virus scanner on pc

    start>
    run>
    msconfig>
    startup tab>

    compare with this website
    http://www.pacs-portal.co.uk/startup_index.htm
     
  3. Frank4d

    Frank4d Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,126
    Start in Safe Mode and look in Event Viewer (Right click My Computer, then click Manage, Event Viewer). Look for Errors (red) under System and Application that have times which coincide with boot problems.
     
  4. Matts3D

    Matts3D Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    230
    Ok,
    Unchecking all startup items did not solve it.
    Lately I have installed AVG Firewall, antivirus.

    In the Event Viewer, in the last hour the errors are from those sources:
    -sptd
    -EventSystem
    -Service Control Manager EventLog Provider
    -DistributedCOM
     
  5. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,986
    First Name:
    Wayne
    how long before did you install
    Lately I have installed AVG Firewall, antivirus.

    you could try a sytem restore in safemode - select a date when you know it was working fine

    frank4d will need to decode if those event logs are useful
     
  6. Matts3D

    Matts3D Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    230
    Lets say that yesterday I upgraded my windows XP to Vista.
    But I had the same problem before when I was using XP.
    I got lucky once 3 weeks ago, my computer booted normally and since then it could restart normally.
    The problem restarted yesterday when I installed Vista and needed to reboot to finish the installation.
    after letting my computer reboot and reboot again (my problem) it finally booted (i guess it had to boot like 30 times until it finally worked). Installation finally was able to finish.
    I had to reboot again, but this time I am still not able to boot it completely... I'm guessing that it will eventually boot...
     
  7. Matts3D

    Matts3D Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    230
    AVG Firewall was installed before the problem began.
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,986
    First Name:
    Wayne
    just before - or a long while before

    if just before uninstalll it

    did you have norton on before ??
     
  9. Matts3D

    Matts3D Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    230
    Maybe 2 months before.
    I did not have Norton before I had Windows Live Onecare.

    I finaly managed to boot my computer by going to msconfig and choosing selective startup and checking only Load System Services
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,986
    First Name:
    Wayne
    OK - so now you need to know what driver is causing the problem as it boots
     
  11. Matts3D

    Matts3D Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    230
    found it, I had to uncheck startup service: plug and play...
    Is it important?
     
  12. Matts3D

    Matts3D Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    230
    all right... Now that I have uncheck plug and play service, my Device Manager is empty... I've read that it is caused by unchecking plug and play...
    What can I do...
     
  13. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,986
    First Name:
    Wayne
    I suspect its a symtom of the problem rather than the cause -

    which servcie did you disable
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/323713
     
  14. Matts3D

    Matts3D Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    230
  15. Matts3D

    Matts3D Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    230
    Since my Device Manager is empty, I cant install new drivers...
    I have a M-Audio Sound card. M-Audio haven't released the Vista driver yet...
    So I could use the on-board one... I only need to update the driver for vista.
    Problem is there is nothing in the Device Manager...
    I dont have any sounds playing :(:(
    I also notice that everything is very slow on my computer...
    I went in the task manager and disabled some devices like iTuneHelper...
    I stopped a dozen and now everything is fast on the screen.
    I will make some tests and see what was the cause of the slowing down...
    Oh! I'll post a screencap of the stopped services. Maybe you guys could tell me wich one you suspect to slow down the computer.
    I am about the reformat to XP. If I can manage to have some sound, clear the slowing down and get back the plug and play service, I will keep Vista.

    You guys think that if I just unpug my speakers from my M-Auio soundcard and plug them on the onboard will make the sound come back, or I really have to install a new driver for wichever one I'll use?

    When my computer was slowing down, I had to restart explorer a couple of times so I have more services stopped tan the ones I have stopped with the Task Manager...

    [​IMG]
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/567959

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice