1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved Computer cleaning

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by jllp, Jan 17, 2019.

Advertisement
  1. jllp

    jllp Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    106
    I was informed bye one of my financial product companies that my account had been used to try to open a bank account. They suggested that I have my computers and devices professionally cleaned. I would like to do that myself. How do I do that and save everything that is on my computer so that I can then reinstall it? I would like to do this as economically as possible. Thank you so much.
     
  2. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,499
    First Name:
    Frank
    How exactly did you receive this warning?
    Did you call your financial product company to confirm if someone is trying to open a bank account in your name?
    It may very well be a scam to try to obtain personal information from you.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. jllp

    jllp Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    106
    My financial adviser first emailed me, then I called him and we spoke. I verified again by calling the company.
     
  4. askey127

    askey127 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,720
    Hi jllp,
    Usually, this kind of warning and/or infection will require some changes, both in the PC box and in the habits of the user.
    If you are amenable to these possibilities, please refer to the following:
    https://forums.techguy.org/threads/...before-posting-for-help-in-this-forum.943214/
    This tells you to download the Sysinfo program and run it before posting.
    That way we can begin the help process. Otherwise we don't have enough information to begin.
    Please post the log from the program, and we can start a dialog to get this fixed.

    askey127
     
  5. jllp

    jllp Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    106
    Okay. Thanks. One other thing. I installed the free upgrade to Windows 10 from Windows 7 when 10 came out. If I do a cleaning, or full system restore (back to the way my laptop was when I purchased it from HP), will I be able to get that free upgrade to 10 again, or would I need to purchase 10 at that point?
     
  6. askey127

    askey127 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,720
    If you gp back to Win 7, you cannot get any "Free" offers for W10 again.
    However, your machine is registered and activated, so this machine would be OK for a free re-install of W10 if necessary, and it would activate correctly.
    Files and instructions to burn install disks for W10 are available online, free. (you would need a blank DVD-R or DVD+R)
    https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/software-download/windows10ISO
    You do need to know which version you have, i.e. Home or Pro, before you attempt to replace it
     
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2019
  7. jllp

    jllp Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    106
    Thanks.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1221999

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice