1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Computer connects to the internet, however Internet programs such as I E doesnt work.

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by gabEbaby, Dec 11, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. gabEbaby

    gabEbaby Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Can anyone help?

    My computer icon shows my computer connects to the internet by (the computer icons are lit with the globe in front) however the internet programs will not work. Such as I E, and my other applications.

    What can I do?

    I have pinged the computer, it is sending and receiving.

    I have reset the I E browser.

    Gone to connections and all internet settings are at default.

    I turned firewall off as well as security program.

    Any help?
     
  2. BillSnapWire

    BillSnapWire

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    199
    Have you tried a web browser such as Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.
     
  3. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Also might try booting in safe mode with networking.
    See if that works.
     
  4. gabEbaby

    gabEbaby Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    i dont know how to do that
     
  5. gabEbaby

    gabEbaby Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    my web browser wont let me go to any sites. I dont know whats wrong
     
  6. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Probably pf8 as you restart.
    Might be 2 or 6 depending on make and model.

    Also,try pinging
    yahoo.com

    and
    74.125.45.100
     
  7. BillSnapWire

    BillSnapWire

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    199
    To re-itterate what pedroguy said:
    Press F8 whilst your boot up screen is loading (this usually shows the logo of the computer manufacturer and a loading bar).

    Or try pressing F4 in the same way, and then press F8 if safe mode still doesn't come up.

    Here is an example of a safe mode screen:
    [​IMG]

    Press the down arrow on your keyboard and press enter.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/884709

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice