1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

computer corrupted

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by ctm, Sep 28, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ctm

    ctm Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    My daughter had left her computer on with two windows open and a diskette in the a drive, during the hurracane Isabelle last week. We had no real power outages, but our power went off and on several times during the hurracane. Now when she booted her computer up this week, we are getting a message box stating that the system is corrupted.

    She has a Gateway computer with Windows 2000 Operateing System. Also she is not connected to any inernet and email, the computer stands alone as a desktop.

    Please advise her on how to solve the corruption problem

    Thanks
     
  2. Miz

    Miz

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    2,146
    A Windows reinstall is probably the easiest option.

    Just put the Gateway restore/recovery (whatever Gateway calls theirs) into the CD drive and reboot (since it has to be running to get power to the CD drive to insert the CD).

    You should get a screen asking if you want to boot from the CD, tell it yes.

    Then it's a matter of following the prompts on the screen.
     
  3. ctm

    ctm Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    Thanks Miz:

    Do I use Gateway Drivers (To reinstall programs and drivers) or Gateway Applications (to reinstall programs)

    Thanks
     
  4. ctm

    ctm Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    Miz, I for got the other Gateway driver called Operating system

    Thanks
     
  5. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,849
    First Name:
    Rob
    You have removed the floppy disk right, and tried rebooting?

    Those power outages could have corrupted the BIOS, is the BIOS even detecting the harddrive at bootup? What if you eneter the Bios Setup and try to autodetect the harddrive?
     
  6. ctm

    ctm Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    triple6:

    Thats correct, my daughter gets a Bios message that it is corrupted.
    Please explain in great detail how to enter the Bios set and try to autodetect the harddrive.

    Thanks,
     
  7. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,849
    First Name:
    Rob
    On the screen it says that the BIOS is corrupt, there should be a message that says press "x" to enter setup. This is what you must do. Generally the key is F2, DEL or F10. In the bios try to find something that says load BIOS/SETUP/OPTIMAL defaults and load that. Then find the area, where it says AUTODETECT IDE/HARDDRIVES and select that. Or in Standard/IDE setup make sure its set on AUTO. Then SAVE and EXIT.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/168100

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice