1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Computer could not get internet connection

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by ront162aol, Apr 21, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ront162aol

    ront162aol Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Running Windows XP - in trying to get onto internet, received the following: Computer could not get an internet connection. Error: AC3001 0x84100118. Rebooted computer; rebooted modem; received same error message. Sending this from another computer. Any help? Thanks
     
  2. ekim68

    ekim68 Mike

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    47,087
    Are you hardwired into the internet, or wireless?
     
  3. kolacz007

    kolacz007

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    44
    click start
    then click control panel
    then double click system
    then click on hardware tab at top of dialog box
    then click on device manager
    open every one of the + boxes
    and look for any yellow or might be different colour question marks
    if as i suspect, you have lost your ethanet plugin
    to double check this, go back into control panel and double click on network connections
    if the dialog box that opens has nothing inside it, then i'm afraid your computer is no longer internet ready
    you have numerous choises now, if you know what you are doing, open up your computer and find the ethanet identity number
    then on pc thats internet ready try to download the correct plugin for your pc, save to disc or removable drive and upload to your pc
    if you dont know what you are doing, then you should take your pc to a pc repair shop and let them do it for you
    to triple check this, go back into control panel and double click on the network setup wizard and run it, if it manages to set it up i'm totally wrong above, if it doesnt manage to set it up then you have your options above.
    i hope this helps
    regards
    kol :)
     
  4. ront162aol

    ront162aol Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    ekim68 - computer is hardwired. I've checked both modem and router - both seem to be okay.

    kol - I'll try your suggestions and post results soon

    Thanks for your help
     
  5. ront162aol

    ront162aol Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    kol - I checked device manager and only yellow question mark was for my epson printer.

    I then clicked on network connections and it indicated that Local Area Connection was connected.

    The computer still will not let me onto internet - same error message as before.

    Anything else I might try?
    Thanks
     
  6. kolacz007

    kolacz007

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    44
    hi m8
    try changing your filters ( phone sockets ) just a mute point here, do you have more than one phone socket and is your router plugged into the main sockit? if not it should be
    if all steps above are ok, it's possible that you either have a wireing problem, or your router may not be working properly
    both the above can be solved by ringing up your isp ( internet service provider ) and "telling" them that thier equipment is faulty and you need replacement equipment ( ask for a complete set )
    just an after thought here, in your taskbar bottom right hand side of screen, do you have an icon for the internet? it should have a red X through it, if yes, have you tried right clicking it and then clicking repair?
    one more thing i can think of, ( do this first before you try to click repair ) turn off router, make yourself a cup of tea or coffee, wait 15 minutes, then turn router back on, if no joy then try the step above, if again no joy, ring your isp and ask for technical assistance.
    i hope this helps
    kol
     
  7. ront162aol

    ront162aol Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Thanks kol......I called my ISP right after the problem started. They ran a check from their end and said I was getting a good signal. I have two computers - both on the same router. One computer works fine (the one I am writing this response on). I ran a hardware diagnostic on the problem computer - all phases passed except it indicated that I had no dial tone. I switched my router connections (the good computer and the bad one), and still could not get an internet connection on the bad one. I have high speed service thru my cable co, so don't really understand if the "no dial tone" means anything (as not using dial up service).

    I have tried shutting down both modem and router, waiting, then rebooting. Nothing!

    I do not have internet icon on taskbar. I have tried Windows internet connection repair, but didn't work.

    Very perplexed as to solution to my problem. Any other thoughts?
    Thanks
     
  8. kolacz007

    kolacz007

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    44
    hi, i just want to check something,
    "on your internet ready pc"
    click start
    then click control panel
    then double click system
    then click on hardware tab at top of dialog box
    then click on device manager
    open every one of the + boxes
    and look for any yellow or might be different colour question marks
    "tell me what you see please"
     
  9. ront162aol

    ront162aol Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Hi....checked and found no question marks

    Thanks
     
  10. kolacz007

    kolacz007

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    44
    hi
    sorry m8 i'm stumped, i can only suggest you take your pc to a shop and see if they can solve this mystery
    regards
    kol
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1050287