1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Computer crashed. Blue screen. Issues in safe mode

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Rmarie, Feb 9, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Rmarie

Rmarie Thread Starter

Hello all, thank you for taking the time to read this. I am not very tech savvy, but spent 5 hours on FaceTime pointing at my computer with the person who normally repairs my computer. And we couldn't resolve the issue.

I'm posting from my phone. So I will have to post specs later if I can get safe mode to work.

Windows 7 64bit
    Nvidia GTX 480

I was playing an online game and the computer went to a black screen. I got the "no input signal check video cable" as if the monitor was unplugged. It then restarted itself. It gets as far as the windows splash screen, then goes black for about 35seconds, and the blue screen error appears. It restarts, and brings you to the

"Start windows normally"
    "Last known configuration" ect screen

I tried last known configuration
    Clean boot
    In safe mode, ran cc cleaner, advanced system care, malwarebytes, Norton power something (to remove root kit viruses) defraged.

My video card is out of date by one version. However when I try to install the update I get "cannot install due to .NET framework error"
    I tried installing the latest .net framework and it says it can't be done in safe mode.

I cannot get into windows at all on a normal startup.

I uninstalled my Nvidia gtx 480 drivers and software using the power scan option with advanced system care. And I installed a previous version. 3.45 from 2014 which installed no problem and did not require the .net framework.

What should I try at this point?

2. Rmarie

Rmarie Thread Starter