1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

computer crashes..could be related to monitor or graphics card )=

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Fuzius, Aug 2, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Fuzius

Fuzius Thread Starter

well, my computer started crashing\shutting itself down like maybe twice a day now.
    i'm not an expert in these matters, but i think its related to the graphics card
    or the monitor. because it seems to happen only when or after i play a computer game or a flash game online. plus the monitor is a bit old and not the one i bought with the computer, and it seems to get heated up. so i figured maybe the monitor\card have an overload or something and cause the pc to crush. can anyone help? )=

2. Megabite

Megabite

It will not be the Monitor

But it is most likely the Video Card or PC itself overheating and causing the shutdown.

Make-sure all the fans are running and that the PC is cleaned out of any dust.

Try taking the tower side off if it has one, and blow a household fan in there at full blast and run the game and see.

3. Fuzius

Fuzius Thread Starter

hmm okay i'll try that, maybe the problem is in the fans. thanx!
    any more advice will be appreciated.

4. brillser

brillser

Hi there,
    How old is the machine?
    How much RAM do you have?
    do you defrag your hard drive often?

5. Fuzius

Fuzius Thread Starter

i think its 3 years old
    1024 ram

hmm i dont defrag that much yeah, i should do that..

6. brillser

brillser

7. talkinggoat

talkinggoat