Computer Crashes

Caydenzz

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 26, 2020
Messages
1
Hi!
My computer is starting to get a wee bit old but still works. I have a question regarding the strain the computer takes during gaming. See, i have about 90 fps playing this game, yet my computer crashes. I've been thinking if it's a matter of overheating but then, I've changed CPU paste several times over the years and cleaned my computer regularly. I can do other things like watching movies or even play games that might not really require much E.G WoW for instance. Would love to get help with this.


Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.9
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 10 Enterprise, 64 bit, Build 18363, Installed 20200714203216.000000+120
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4790K CPU @ 4.00GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 60 Stepping 3, CPU Count: 8
Total Physical RAM: 8 GB
Graphics Card: AMD Radeon (TM) R9 390 Series
Hard Drives: C: 464 GB (98 GB Free); D: 465 GB (244 GB Free);
Motherboard: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd. Z97X-Gaming 7, ver x.x, s/n To be filled by O.E.M.
System: American Megatrends Inc., ver ALASKA - 1072009, s/n To be filled by O.E.M.
Antivirus: Windows Defender, Enabled and Updated
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2016
Messages
740
Hello Caydenzz,

What is the brand and model name or number of the PSU.

Download then run Speccy (free) and post the resultant url for us, details here, this will provide us with information about your computer hardware + any software that you have installed that may explain the present issue/s.

To publish a Speccy profile to the Web:

In Speccy, click File, and then click Publish Snapshot.

In the Publish Snapshot dialog box, click Yes to enable Speccy to proceed.

Speccy publishes the profile and displays a second Publish Snapshot. You can open the URL in your default browser, copy it to the clipboard, or close the dialog box.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
82,226
Clipboard.jpg

Why are you hobbling your gaming computer with only 8 GB of RAM?
You should have at least 16 GB in it.

I'm guessing your C: drive is a hard disk drive(HDD) model.
If it is, you should switch to a faster and snappier solid state drive(SSD) model.

--------------------------------------------------
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
118,066
I'm sorry but Microsoft Windows 10 Enterprise should be managed by your IT Department. If you're using it for personal use then it's a violation of the license and we cannot assist as it's not considered genuine.
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2016
Messages
740
Was going to check to see if Windows was fully up to date in Speccy before asking the same thing Cookiegal.
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2008
Messages
3,250
y computer is starting to get a wee bit old but still works. I
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4790K CPU @ 4.00GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 60 Stepping 3, CPU Count: 8
Motherboard: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd. Z97X-Gaming 7
I have the exact same mobo/cpu as you do. Mine is still going strong (6 plus years now).

That said....get you a legal copy of windows 10 (go reatail which is transferable as OEM is not), add a SSD and double your RAM you should be smooth sailing after that.
 
Last edited:

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top