1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Computer disconnecting from wifi at fairly regular intervals.

Discussion in 'Networking' started by RainbowDash, May 9, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. RainbowDash

    RainbowDash Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Hello, first time posting here, after giving up trying to figure this out myself I searched for a good tech support site and found you guys. Anyway, this weekend, I had a strange issue with my router. It showed up on the connections list, but could not be connected to, resulting in a similar error to when the password is incorrect. Once I was able to access the router, or at least get the owner to reset it, it was reachable again, but ever since then I have been being disconnected every 10-30 minutes, sometimes more, sometimes less. I do not have any info on the router, since the situation is kind of complicated. My network adapter in the laptop has been working perfectly for as long as I have had it, so I do not think the issue lies there, but I have not ruled it out. I can run whatever tests can be done from the laptop itself if need be, though may need walking through how to do them, other than that I have little information available to me. Also of note, when I say disconnect, I do not mean that it goes to limited connection, but the connection just drops, and I have to reconnect.

    Qualcomm Atheros AR9485WB-EG Wireless Network Adapter
    Windows 8
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,766
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can you post an xirrus screen shot
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and install the program.
    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

    If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply

    http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
    ( the site now appears to require a business email, and does not allow webbased emails like gmail,hotmail or yahoo etc )

    Use the links below

    http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html
    http://www.softpedia.com/progDownload/Xirrus-Wi-Fi-Monitor-Download-99109.html

    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You will need to have NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.
    On windows 8 - (i do not have windows 8) but, it would appear that, When you first try to run, you may get a message that .net framework is needed, and included in that message is a link to download/install.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here
    http://www.xirrus.com/cdn/pdf/xirruswifiinspectorguide1-2-0

    post a screen shot of the program running.
    if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information.

    post which SSID name is yours, its located in the list, under network "Adapter Name" (1st column)


    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better. "A desirable signal level for a robust Wi-Fi connection will be green".
    note: the signal level is a negative number, so for example -88 is worst and -40 is better

    To post a screen shot of the active window.

    Windows XP
    Hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.

    Vista or Windows 7
    you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/how-to-use-the-windows-snipping-tool/

    Windows 8
    you can use the snipping tool > Open Snipping Tool (From the Windows 8 Start Screen, type "snip" and press enter.
    >Press the Esc. key.
    >go back to your Windows 8 start screen - Swipe from left or press Window Button
    >Press Ctrl+PrntScr button to use Snipping Tool
    see here
    http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/opinion/windows/3415854/how-take-screenshot-in-windows-8/
    http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/how-to/windows/3405830/how-take-screenshot-in-windows-8/


    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot
     
  3. RainbowDash

    RainbowDash Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    I shall try the tool, lets see what there is to see.
     
  4. RainbowDash

    RainbowDash Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    The tool appears to be a .gadget file, I do not know what that is or how to install it.
     
  5. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,766
    First Name:
    Wayne
    should not be a gadget - should be a full installation - let me check the links and see if they have change at all
     
  6. RainbowDash

    RainbowDash Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Nevermind, I found an exe version somewhere.
     
  7. RainbowDash

    RainbowDash Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,766
    First Name:
    Wayne
    that looks OK - but can you keep it running and lets see the graph when it disconnects - just in case the signal is dropping
     
  9. RainbowDash

    RainbowDash Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    I shall do that.
     
  10. RainbowDash

    RainbowDash Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Alright, I got a shot showing when it disconnected. [​IMG]
     
  11. RainbowDash

    RainbowDash Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    As you can see, there is a long straight line in the graph, I am guessing that's the disconnect.
     
  12. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,766
    First Name:
    Wayne
    Yes, thats the disconnection
    and the signal picked up again, but was much lower

    so the signal may be disappearing

    also other networks have appeared
    and TELUS3607 has appeared although a very low signal and so should not interfer it is on channel 11

    i would suggest changing the router channel to 1 - but as thats for the whole apartment, then i suspect in other areas 1 maybe a bad idea , and also you will have to ask the owner to make those changes

    do you have any other wireless devices and do they disconnect or not ?
    it would be good to know if a wireless issue or a PC issue and so maybe you have a phone that can connect to the wireless in the same location as the PC
    OR
    maybe other tenants are also having wireless connection issues
     
  13. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,513
    First Name:
    Terry
    The cause could also be a bad driver or the adapter beginning to fail. Install, or reinstall, the latest wireless driver downloaded from the PC manufacturer's web site.
     
  14. RainbowDash

    RainbowDash Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    I had thought of that early on, the adapter itself would be a problem I can not fix for a few years, due to lack of funds. The drivers on the other hand, I have updated, it didn't change much.
     
  15. RainbowDash

    RainbowDash Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Etaf: No one else using the wireless is having problems as far as I can tell. Strangely enough, today I have not been disconnected once.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1125709

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice