1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Computer doesn't detect D drive

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by UofODuckGirl, Jan 2, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. UofODuckGirl

UofODuckGirl Thread Starter

Hi everyone, this is my first time here. I apologize if this question has already been asked but a couple days ago I was trying to install a new piece of software for my daughter and my CD ROM drive didn't start up automatically like usual. I could hear it wind up but then it would stop so I went to 'my computer' and my D drive wasn't even listed there. I haven't used my D drive for a couple of months, so who knows how long this has been a problem. I had the klez virus back in July but then got rid of it. I don't think that caused the problem because after I got rid of the virus I reinstalled Norton and it worked just fine then. A couple people have mentioned that it coule be a lost driver but I don't want to waste time downloading programs that I don't need. Any thoughts?

Thanks.

2. AbvAvgUser

AbvAvgUser

Did you check the cables in your machine? May be one of them is loose.

If all the cables are in place, try connecting anther CD-ROM drive from another machine. Does that one get recognised?

Which CD-ROM drive is that? What make?

3. Party Boy

Party Boy