Computer doesn't start after moving, please help!!!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

DDZZ007

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 14, 2001
Messages
29
I just moved my computer from downstairs to upstairs, and it was working perfectly fine before I moved it. now it's not booting up, when I click the power button, the lights still flash once like normal, the cd-rom light flashes once like normal, and I could hear the fan spinning, but the normal *beep* doesn't sound when it starts, and the monitor doesn't turn on like normally, and I can't see anything from the monitor.

What is wrong with my computer, I think I shaked something lose when I moved it. can anyone tell me what could of caused this? how do I fix this?

Please help!

Daniel
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
21,334
Just like you said...."something shaked loose" Open the case and ensuare that all of the cards are seated correctly. Also make sure all your cables are connected to the correct external connectors. Is the power LED lit on the monitor when it is turned on??
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2000
Messages
9,264
If Rocky's suggestions don't help, try these:

Disconnect all peripherals one-by-one, including the power to those devices, testing the machine after each disconnect.

Check that your memory and video card is seated properly. If possible, try another video display controller.

When I have a really difficult problem like this one, I disconnect/remove all peripherals--modem, sound card, hard and floppy disks, CD-ROM, etc. At this point, all that is in the chain is the power supply and the "on" switch, the main board, memory, video card and processor. If it still doesn't respond, I start replacing other parts (video, memory, etc.). If you have two memory sticks, remove one at a time.

You get the idea.
 

DDZZ007

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 14, 2001
Messages
29
thanks for the suggestions, after I pulled the CPU out and cleaned it a little and plugged it back in, the computer started working again. But after 20 minutes on it playing civilization 2 test of time, the thing frooze, and after I restarted it, the computer starts and *beeps* every two seconds, but the monitor doesn't turn on. by the way, my monitor has two modes when turn the power on, suspend and on, it's in suspend when I don't use the comp. and on when I do. In this case, it didn't go on as it's suppose to.
then after I waited about a hour and tried it again, the thing started to run perfectly fine again. :confused: what the heck is going on here?:confused: I'm kinda confused, so what exactly is wrong with it? Should I be worrying about future problems?
 
Joined
Dec 2, 1999
Messages
12,041
something is slightly loose and disconnecting do to expansion from heat. Reseat all the add in cards, vid card, memory, cables.
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
21,334
I didn't mean to pull your CPU out....just reseat the cads that might have come loose....LOL

I suppose a Slot 1 CPU can come loose but if it's in a ZIFF socket i have never seen it.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top