1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved Computer fans spin but no post or signal

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Relication, Dec 1, 2019.

Advertisement
  1. Relication

    Relication Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2019
    Messages:
    19
    Hi all,

    I turned on my computer this morning to find that the computer turns on but does not post. I have tried reseating the GPU, RAM, CPU and changed the power supply. I've even tried changing montior and HDMI cables several times.

    The specs are:
    Ryzen 3 1200
    AMD RX 590 8GB Red Devil
    8 GB DDR4 RAM
    1 TB HDD
    240GB BOOT SSD
    500W Corsair CX500 PSU

    Any help would be greatly appreciated!
     
  2. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,803
    First Name:
    Allan
    What motherboard is it please ?
     
  3. replay

    replay

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Messages:
    5,524
    from the quick search i did.....says the graphic card requires atleast a 600w psu and to makes things worse u have the cx line of corsair (not up to the job)
     
  4. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    39,741
    That would be my first guess; pw supply failed. The cx line from corsair is designed for a basic system ie running onchip video, using ms office, etc. The corsair cx series is NOT designed for running a gaming type video card.
    A corsair cx is fine for a basic system; in fact I use one in my home theater system however I would never think of gaming with that system.
     
  5. Relication

    Relication Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2019
    Messages:
    19
    Thank you for the replies guys. I have taken out the GPU and ran the PC with a brand new 600w PSU but it still doesn't boot. Is there anything that I should try? I've tried running the pc with just the CPU, mobo, RAM and PSU but still no boot.
     
  6. replay

    replay

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Messages:
    5,524
    Take out one ram stick... try to boot...
    Then try the other
     
  7. Relication

    Relication Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2019
    Messages:
    19
    I've tried each RAM slot and but the screen is still blank.
     
  8. replay

    replay

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Messages:
    5,524
    so u tried a “out of case build” on a box???
     
  9. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,803
    First Name:
    Allan
    What make and model new PSU did you try ? Also we still don't know what motherboard you have.
     
  10. Relication

    Relication Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2019
    Messages:
    19
    Not as of yet no. But I shall try that now. It may be a bit early but do you have any idea of what the problem could be?

    I will just grab the motherboard number and post it here. Sorry, bear with me guys.
     
  11. Relication

    Relication Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2019
    Messages:
    19
    The motherboard is Gigabyte GA-A320M-S2H. The other PSU is not a good brand but it's a brand new 600W PSU.
     
  12. Relication

    Relication Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2019
    Messages:
    19
    I have tried an open box build and it still doesn't boot. Do you guys have any other ideas?
     
  13. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,803
    First Name:
    Allan
    Are you shorting the pins on the motherboard to try to power it up ?
    Do you have a speaker/beeper attached to the motherboard ?
     
  14. Relication

    Relication Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2019
    Messages:
    19
    I am shorting the pins on the motherboard to turn it on. I don't not have a speaker but I have POST card but doesn't seem to work on as it's PCI not PCI-E, I believe.
     
  15. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,803
    First Name:
    Allan
    Ok, using the pins eliminates the power switch as the problem.
    Some cases come with beepers, are you sure you don't have one ?
    If the POST card will fit into any motherboard socket it should work.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1236485

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice