1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Computer freeze - still

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by lybush, Jan 25, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. lybush

    lybush Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    To All,

    For a year or more, my computer will freeze. usually about a min or two after starting Win 98 SE for about 2 or 3 days staright and then for about the same length of time will work perfectly. I am always running the same programs. I've trried everything to find the cause but am unsuccessful. I eliminated all start ups, virus scanned, changed hardware accelerator or whatever that is called and any and everything to find the problem.

    I have a PIII 733 MHz Via MB with 393MB ram with a 20 GB WD drive.

    When I reboot, I usually have scan disk, in Dos, find lost cluster(s) on my Temp directory or my Win directory. I changed the temp directory to a different partition on my HD thinking that may be the problem. I have 5 partitions, c - g each about the same size.

    If I just boot to DOS, I can use the computer all day without a freeze. Sometimes, in WIN, it will go about an hour and then freeze, but usually it will happen very quickly.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks,

    Len
     
  2. steamwiz

    steamwiz

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,773
    Hi lybush

    If you post your startup list we may be able to spot something

    Please post your startup list by doing the following :-

    Please go here and download startuplist 1.51 :-

    http://www.lurkhere.com/~nicefiles/startuplist151.zip

    Download to any folder or your desktop
    Unzip the zipfile
    Double click the exe file
    go to Edit - select all - copy - and paste the results in a new post here


    steam
     
  3. lybush

    lybush Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks for your interest in my problem.
    Kere are the results: Hope it helps. I also get 'allocation errors' in my Win drive when scandisk starts upon reboot after freeze.

    Len

    StartupList report, 1/25/03, 2:28:05 PM
    StartupList version: 1.51
    Started from : G:\TEMP\STARTUPLIST.EXE
    Detected: Windows 98 SE (Win9x 4.10.2222A)
    Detected: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)
    * Using default options
    ==================================================

    Running processes:

    D:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    D:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    D:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
    D:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    D:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    D:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    D:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RPCSS.EXE
    D:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
    E:\PROGRAM FILES\CPAL\CPBRWTCH.EXE
    D:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\EXSHOW95.EXE
    G:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON ANTIVIRUS\NAVAPW32.EXE
    D:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\EXSHOW.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\CLIPBOARD PILE\CLIPBOARD PILE.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\RAMPAGE\RAMPAGE.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\1STCLOCK\1STCLOCK.EXE
    D:\PROGRAM FILES\ROBANTON\WLAN\WLM.EXE
    D:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
    G:\MSOFFICE\OFFICE10\MSOFFICE.EXE
    D:\PROGRAM FILES\OUTLOOK EXPRESS\MSIMN.EXE
    E:\PROGRAM FILES\CPAL\CPAL.EXE
    D:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\PSTORES.EXE
    D:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\IEXPLORE.EXE
    D:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\HLSRV.EXE
    D:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
    F:\PIPEPLUS\UTIL\WINZIP32.EXE
    G:\TEMP\STARTUPLIST.EXE

    --------------------------------------------------

    Listing of startup folders:

    Shell folders Startup:
    [D:\WINDOWS\Start Menu\Programs\StartUp]
    1st Clock.lnk = C:\Program Files\1stClock\1STCLOCK.EXE
    Robanton Wireless LAN Monitor Utility.lnk = D:\Program Files\Robanton\WLAN\WLM.exe

    Shell folders Common Startup:
    [D:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\uj]
    ZoneAlarm Pro.lnk = G:\Program Files\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\zapro.exe

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    SystemTray = SysTray.Exe
    Cookie Pal = "E:\PROGRAM FILES\CPAL\CPBrWtch.exe"
    EM_EXEC = E:\KMOUSE\SYSTEM\EM_EXEC.EXE
    ScanRegistry = D:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
    EXSHOW95.EXE = EXSHOW95.EXE
    NAV Agent = G:\PROGRA~2\NORTON~1\NAVAPW32.EXE
    Clipboard Pile = C:\PROGRAM FILES\CLIPBOARD PILE\CLIPBOARD PILE.EXE
    C-Media Echo Control = g:\Bin\EchoCtrl.exe
    RAMpage = "C:\Program Files\RAMpage\RAMpage.exe" U=20 M=28 T=4 S P="C:\Program Files\RAMpage\RAMpageConfig.exe"

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices

    ScriptBlocking = "D:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\Script Blocking\SBServ.exe" -reg
    TrueVector = D:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ZONELABS\VSMON.EXE -service

    --------------------------------------------------

    D:\WINDOWS\WININIT.BAK listing:
    (Created 13/1/2003, 12:14:12)

    [rename]
    NUL=G:\TEMP\GLB1A2B.EXE
    NUL=G:\TEMP\GLB1A2B.EXE

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\AUTOEXEC.BAT listing:

    G:\PROGRA~2\NORTON~1\NAVDX.EXE /startup
    :: D:\WINDOWS\ESSCFG.EXE /A:220 /I:7 /D:1 /B:330 /J:E
    :: D:\WINDOWS\ESSVOL.EXE /V:8 /L:8 /W:8 /M:0 /C:8 /S:8 /A:8
    PROMPT $D$_$p$g
    SET SYMANTEC=D:\SYMANTEC
    SET DIRCMD=/A/P/O-D
    :: SET QBACKUP=C:\QBACKUP
    SET TEMP=G:\TEMP
    SET TMP=G:\TEMP
    SET COBDIR=F:\MFCBL\LBR;F:\MFCBL\EXEDLL
    SET LIB=F:\MFCBL\LIB
    SET SPFPATH=D:\SPFPC
    SET COBHNF=F:\MFCBL\ON-LINE
    SET INCLUDE=F:\MFCBL\INC
    SET COBCPY=F:\MFCBL\SOURCE;F:\MFCBL\SOURCE\OOPS;C:\CBL;C:\PRODCONT\EXEFILES
    SET COBDEMO=F:\MFCBL\DEMO
    SET MFORG=F:\MFCBL\MFORG
    SET COBSW=/S15000+P3
    SET CWWORK=F:\MFCBL\DEMO\COWRITER
    SET CWFILES=F:\MFCBL\DEMO\COWRITER
    SET CWRSYSTEM=F:\MFCBL\LBR
    PATH=D:\WINDOWS;D:\WINDOWS\COMMAND;C:\DOS;C:\;C:\BAT;D:\INSET
    PATH=%PATH%;F:\SPFPC;D:\PK;C:\CBL;F:\MFCBL\EXEDLL
    PATH=%PATH%;D:\WINDOWS\Twain_32\Scanwiz;D:\WINDOWS\Twain\Scanwiz
    LH D:\WINDOWS\COMMAND\DOSKEY
    C:\DOS\CAPSON
    SET CLASSPATH=.\;%CLASSPATH%;D:\Program Files\PLATINUM technology\wirl\java\classes;
    SET LD_LIBRARY_PATH=.\;f:\pipeplus\NETSCAPE\PROGRAM\plugins;%LD_LIBRARY_PATH%
    :: lh c:\dos\ring\ringres 3
    :: C:\VIAUDIO\VIAUDIO.COM
    :: SET BLASTER=A220 I5 D1 P330
    :: C3DMIX /MCC000 /FCC000 /WDD000 /L00100 /E00100 /A66166 /CD0100 /P20000 /400000 /R0f0ff /D040ff /Q0

    --------------------------------------------------


    Enumerating Browser Helper Objects:

    (no name) - F:\PIPEPLUS\COMPASS\CMPSIE.DLL - {E479EDE1-923E-11D3-B82B-00E09871521B}
    (no name) - E:\PROGRAM FILES\DAP\DAPIEBAR.DLL - {0096CC0A-623C-4829-AD9C-19AF0DC9D8FE}
    (no name) - E:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 5.0\READER\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.OCX - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3}
    Discover deskshop Browser Helper Object - D:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\BHODSHOP.DLL - {8DB3D69D-DA5E-4165-B781-72A761790672}
    (no name) - D:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\LINKMGR.DLL - {92CBA277-292B-461f-9DEA-67A5C834E101}
    (no name) - G:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll - {BDF3E430-B101-42AD-A544-FADC6B084872}
    (no name) - E:\KMOUSE\IE_SPY.DLL - {CE7C3CF0-4B15-11D1-ABED-709549C10000}
    (no name) - d:\windows\downloaded program files\googletoolbar_en_1.1.66-deleon.dll - {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7}
    Ipswitch.WsftpBrowserHelper - F:\PROGRAM FILES\WS_FTP PRO\WSBHO2K0.DLL - {601ED020-FB6C-11D3-87D8-0050DA59922B}

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Task Scheduler jobs:

    Symantec NetDetect.job

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Download Program Files:

    [CV3 Class]
    InProcServer32 = D:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WUV3IS.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://windowsupdate.microsoft.com/R922/V31Controls/x86/w98/en/actsetup.cab

    [Shockwave Flash Object]
    InProcServer32 = D:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MACROMED\FLASH\FLASH.OCX
    CODEBASE = http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab

    [iPIX ActiveX Control]
    InProcServer32 = D:\WINDOWS\DOWNLO~1\IPIXX.OCX
    CODEBASE = http://www.ipix.com/viewers/ipixx.cab

    [{41F17733-B041-4099-A042-B518BB6A408C}]
    CODEBASE = http://a1540.g.akamai.net/7/1540/52...le.com/samantha/us/win/QuickTimeInstaller.exe

    [DivX Player]
    CODEBASE = http://download.divx.com/player/DivXPlayerInstaller.exe

    [sys Class]
    InProcServer32 = D:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\PCPITSTOP.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://www.pcpitstop.com/pcpitstop/PCPitStop.CAB

    [AJ Installer Control]
    InProcServer32 = D:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ASKBARAB.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://sp.ask.com/docs/toolbar/download/AskBar-inst.cab

    [Update Class]
    InProcServer32 = D:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IUCTL.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?37583.3967361111

    [PWMediaSendControl Class]
    InProcServer32 = D:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\PWACTIVEXIMGCTL.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://216.249.24.142/code/PWActiveXImgCtl.CAB

    --------------------------------------------------
    End of report, 7,291 bytes
    Report generated in 0.174 seconds

    Command line options:
    /verbose - to add additional info on each section
    /complete - to include empty sections and unsuspicious data
    /full - to include several rarely-important sections
    /force9x - to include Win9x-only startups even if running on WinNT
    /forcent - to include WinNT-only startups even if running on Win9x
    /forceall - to include all Win9x and WinNT startups, regardless of platform
    /history - to list version history only
     
  4. steamwiz

    steamwiz

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,773
    Hi lybush

    I see nothing in your startup that could be causing your problems

    This could be a spyware\foistware\malware\adware problem

    You may want to run spybot to get rid of any hidden spyware etc.

    Please Download and install SpyBot,

    http://www.lurkhere.com/~nicefiles/spybot14.exe

    click the online tab to search for and download the updates, then shut down and relaunch SpyBot.

    Go to the Settings tab > File Sets, and uncheck 'System Internals' and 'Tracks' .
    These aren't needed for our present purpose, and you can always experiment with them later on.

    Finally, after closing down Internet Explorer, click 'Check for problems', and have SpyBot remove all it finds 'Fix selected problems'

    you may have to run spybot more than once to clear everything

    Remove everything pre-ticked in Red

    steam
     
  5. lybush

    lybush Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Steam,

    Thanks for your reply.

    I have SpyBot and run it at least twice a week and as of now there are no more 'REDS'. Also, I just finished PC Pitstop and they say my system is fine with one yellow flag. Says I should run scandisk on all partitions, which I've done at least 6 times today as that is about how many times I have had to reboot.

    I had AdAware or whatever it is called and removed it for Spybot last week. I also ran Norton AV in DOS through the entire HD and came up with nothing wrong. I also defrag often.

    ??????

    Len
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/115250

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice