1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Computer Freezes At Random Times

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by TechGuy42, Feb 14, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. TechGuy42

    TechGuy42 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Messages:
    215
    Whileon my PC my computer freezes at random times. I have ran PC Certify says everything passed. I scanned for viruses and Software using 6 different programs. It found no viruses and I also scanned for spyware with multiple programs and my system is clean. Any ideas on what else is thr problem. I do nto believe it is a software issue.
     
  2. 42gary

    42gary

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Messages:
    203
    could you please list you computer specs.
     
  3. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    32,636
    First Name:
    James
    Sounds like a heat issue to me.
     
  4. TechGuy42

    TechGuy42 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Messages:
    215
    It is not a heat issue because my Temp is only 55 decgress Celcius which is fine
     
  5. TechGuy42

    TechGuy42 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Messages:
    215
    AMD XP 2800
    1 GB of Ram
    ATI 9200
    80 GB HDD
    ANything else you want to know?
     
  6. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    32,636
    First Name:
    James
    Is your memory 1 stick or 2?

    Also do you have spare parts to test the video, memory and or cpu?

    When did this start and do you remember doing anything at the time of the problem?
     
  7. inferlogic

    inferlogic

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    197
    try a memtest. www.memtest86.com , an error in the memmory is known to cause this problem.
     
  8. TechGuy42

    TechGuy42 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Messages:
    215
    it si 2 sticks of 512. Also PC cxertify ahs a better mem test then that free one. i hvae no memory errors.
     
  9. RAM-PAGE

    RAM-PAGE Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2,355
    I guess you have enough free-space and no power supply problems from the mains onwards.
     
  10. TechGuy42

    TechGuy42 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Messages:
    215
    I am still having problems it went away for awhile but it is back
     
  11. RAM-PAGE

    RAM-PAGE Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2,355
    I wonder at the temperature of these Athlon processors. I just installed Everest on such a computer and find that the processor temperature is much higher than the Intel PIII which I am using and the fan speed on that machine was down to 2170 rpm.

    My fan speed is 4,500 rpm whilst my Processor is running at 29°C/84°F
     
  12. Derrick

    Derrick

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    I would say 55 is pretty high! not sure about the ideal temps for them but if Ihad one Id try to get it under 40 at least, is that idle temp ? even underload this northwood doesn't go over 45 !! try running it with the side off and a house fan on it and see if it freezes again.
     
  13. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    32,636
    First Name:
    James
    55oC = 131oF, that is high. 120oF or lower is acceptable. You need to bring the temp down more.
     
  14. 42gary

    42gary

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Messages:
    203
    i have seen an amd processor run at 65 C. and not have any freezing issues. Try disabling all of the programs in the startup menu by typing msconfig in the run box. enable each one 1 at a time(restarting the comp each time) and when it freezes, the last one you checked could very well be your cause.
     
  15. 42gary

    42gary

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Messages:
    203
    does it freeze in safe mode? try that.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/330591

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice