computer freezes continually

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

stateline

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 13, 2004
Messages
47
I have to restart sometimes every 2-4 minutes, sometimes it will run for a half hour with no problems, then the nightmare starts all over. My son emptied it out and formatted it.
It's a HP bought at Staples last yr, I took it back to the store and they dodn't seem to know anymore then my kids do. they just said that they would format it again.
the fan is working,
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2004
Messages
359
What operating system are you running? I suggest downloading, installing and updating (spybot and ad-aware. The links are just below). Then run these programs. Do you have any anti-virus software? if so have you been keeping it up to date? If there is no improvement after you've done this post back. There are more things you can try
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2004
Messages
49,014
THe fan may be working, but make sure that ithe insides are clean and free of dusty bunnies. Make sure that nothing is preventing proper air flow.
 

stateline

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 13, 2004
Messages
47
thanks for the help
I took off the side ,blew out and vacumed all the dust and it still froze about 10 minutes later
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2003
Messages
1,280
Download and install Motherboard Monitor and post your temperature readings. The most important temperature is the CPU.


By the way, never use a vacuum cleaner to remove dust bunnies from the inside of a computer. I've been told that a vacuum cleaner generates enough energy to possibly damage the motherboard, CPU, RAM, etc. These parts are electricity-sensitive and static electricity can damage the computer.

Next time, use canned air (purchased at an office supply store or computer store), hold the can upright and spray. Do not tilt the can or else a white-ish chemical comes out and will damage the computer.
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2004
Messages
359
Is the computer restarting by itself? or do you have to restart the computer manually from lack of usability?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top